RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

216 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:16:06 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#1

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi, I'm new to this forum and will soon be a new user to Revit - I'm very excited! I am the designer for a construction company full time and run my own design company on the side (Doak Design). My full time job, where I'm the only designer/draftsman, will be purchasing Revit 2011 along with a new computer system, and I want to make sure I get something that will work! Right now the planned purchase is:

Dell Precision T1500i7 860, 2.8ghz8 gb ddr3, 1333mhzNvidia quadro FX580, 512mbdual 22" lcd monitorsraid 320gb hard drives (two, running each as a back-up I think)

Does anyone currently run Revit 2011, or AutoCAD Architecture 2011 on a system close to this where you could give me some feedback as to its performance?

I would greatly appriciate it as we will be making the purchase before the end of the year.

Thank you!

-Phil-


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 7:19:43 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


I have an Intel core i7 930 2.80GHz with 12GB of Ram DDR3 and an ATI Radeon HD 5850 in Windows 7 64bits and works like a charm...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 5, 2011 at 7:41:05 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#3

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


We run the fx570 video card. but had a prob with crashing all the time.  the problem was the driver was not supported.  We had to roll our driver back to a supported version and all is great at this point. I know the fx580 is a compatible card but not with there new drivers. you can look on revits site and find the compatible driver and make sure you have it.  funny how a driver can mess up everything and cause crashes like crazy. i mean like every 20 min. also may want to set your 3 gig switch, that helps a bunch also. 


-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 5, 2011 at 7:51:22 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#4

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


What is the 3 gig switch? Can you explain what that does, how it works, and why to do it? I could probably search for it on google too if you know of a good link that would be helpful.

Thanks!


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 5, 2011 at 7:57:10 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#5

Bimman


active
Bimman Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 17, 2003
360 Posts
1 Stars: 2 Votes


it basicly lets revit use more of your supplied ram. with larger projects revit may not have the ability to access enough ram to make its calculations. if this happens then it will crash.  he is the link from autodesk you can read it and follow the instruvtions for the page filing also. i had a terrible prob with crashing until i figured all this out.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8018966&linkID=9243099


-----------------------------------
PWD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 5, 2011 at 8:09:03 PM | i7 860 for Revit - feedback?

#6

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Awesome, thank you! I'll def. check that out! I will typically only work with custom residential so I doubt I should have any problems, but I would like to get into some new commercial projects under my personal business if I can find an architect willing to hire out some contract work. But thanks to Typhoon for input as well; I should be getting the new computer this week, I recieved the Revit Architecture Legacy Suite a couple days ago, so I'm excited to get it loaded on!!!

 

Thanks again!!!

-Phil-


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

HELP PLEASE!!!!!! i7 860 vs i5 2400

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Sat, Jun 29, 2013 at 6:01:31 PM

3

Feedback and Suggestions

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 4:40:56 PM

3

feedback on my rendering [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Thu, May 14, 2009 at 4:43:02 AM

24

Faster Rendering Times

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 6:02:00 PM

2

Notes: on sheet vs. in view

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 29, 2007 at 6:21:40 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1492113

Objects:

21157

Forum Posts:

151139

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4882

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights