RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

343 Users Online (175 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Objects not staying selected

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 at 7:59:15 PM | Objects not staying selected

#1

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


I've got an issue with objects not staying selected when I switch between views. I've figured out that the problem only occurs when I've got my project browser 'undocked' outside of the Revit window. I'm using dual monitors, so I moved my project browser and properties bar out of the window, so I could have a bigger drawing area. But what happens is when I select an object, then click in the undocked project browser, to change views, the object will de-select. This is making it somewhat difficult to manage my project, because I can't select objects in 3D and then move or edit them in plan or section views. See the attachments to better understand what I'm talking about.

Thanks



Attached Images

86384_docked_project_browser.jpg86384_undocked_project_browser.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 12:04:10 AM | Objects not staying selected

#2

gdoherty0102


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 21, 2010
102 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


This has always happened, it sometimes unselects and sometimes does not.  What I have done since as far as I can remember is to open the view first, go back to the other view, select what you need then use ctrl+tab or ctrl+shift+tab to pan through your screens that you have open in Revit.  Just make sure you don't have multiple project open or it will unselect if you pass through another project/family.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 2:49:52 PM | Objects not staying selected

#3

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply, and that sounds like a pretty good workaround. But, I have a hard time believing that this has always been the way Revit worked, because when we first got our Revit program we were told during our training classes that having dual monitors was a good idea so that you could move all the toolbars and such off of the main screen to provide a larger drawing area. Plus I posted this same problem in the Autodesk discussion group, and I've had people on there say that they've undocked their project browser, and haven't had any problems with objects deselecting.



Edited on: Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 10:26:08 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 3:13:10 PM | Objects not staying selected

#4

gdoherty0102


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 21, 2010
102 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I really don't think it is an issue of undocking.  I have had this issue with the PB docked and undocked.  I know this has been an issue since at least 9.1. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:25:21 PM | Objects not staying selected

#5

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


It's sounds like your issue is a little worse than mine. My selection will work properly between views with no problems, as long as my project browser is docked. So if you're having objects deselect when going between views, even with the PB docked, then you've got other bigger problems.

When you say that you know it's been a problem since 9.1, do you mean it's been a problem for you? Or have you read about others having the same issue? Cause I tried to research this before I posted my question, and I couldn't find anyone talking about having had this issue in the past.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:34:12 PM | Objects not staying selected

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


Single monitors do not have this problem and you are the first I have seen having this problem with dual monitors.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:51:11 PM | Objects not staying selected

#7

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, at one point I took away my second monitor to see if I could isolate the dual monitors as being the problem, but that wasn't the case. Even with just one monitor, when my project browser was undocked, I wasn't able to keep objects selected while using the PB to change views.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:52:33 PM | Objects not staying selected

#8

gdoherty0102


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 21, 2010
102 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


When I say since 9.1 I have worked on multiple computers, with different screne formats, many versions of Revit, and four different companies.  So I would venture to say that it is more wide spread.  It some times seems as though when you click to go to a new view it sometimes thinks you are trying to select the view rather than go into it.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 4:55:50 PM | Objects not staying selected

#9

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, at one point I took away my second monitor to see if I could isolate the dual monitors as being the problem, but that wasn't the case. Even with just one monitor, when my project browser was undocked, I wasn't able to keep objects selected while using the PB to change views.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 5:02:53 PM | Objects not staying selected

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


If I select an object in an open view, then click in the browser, slide it to a different area and pick a new view, the item is still selected.  So, I still do not have your problem.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 5:26:32 PM | Objects not staying selected

#11

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


Well I don't know what's going on then. Cause anytime my PB is undocked, I can't keep objects selected when switching between views. (see attachment) It's like the project browser becomes a 2nd window. Cause even if with nothing selected, when i make my first click onto the project browser, I notice that the 'modify' icon on my Revit home tab changes from being blue, to having no color at all. Look at the two different attachments, one is when i'm clicked into the revit drawing window, and the other is when I'm clicked into the project browser. Notice the 'modify' icon, and the title bar of the PB.

Attached Images

86426_browser_undocked.png86426_browser_undocked_2.png

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 6:45:40 PM | Objects not staying selected

#12

gdoherty0102


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 21, 2010
102 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


WWHub and AllStar, when going between two views is the second view already open just not displayed?  For me if I select an object then go an OPEN a new view it will deselect and will select the properties of the view.  If I select an object then go click on a view in the PB that is already open but just behind it will keep my objects selected. 

 So what it is for me is that the view has to already be open, you can not open a view that is not already open and keep your selecton.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 25, 2010 at 8:52:39 PM | Objects not staying selected

#13

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


My objects will de-select any time the PB is undocked from the Revit window. Does not matter if the views are open already, or unopened. But if I dock the PB into the Revit window, then everything works fine, between all views, open or unopened.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Zoom Selected

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Sep 3, 2015 at 5:09:05 PM

12

Help Video Staying on

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 5:02:08 PM

0

Selecting Objects on floor below

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 8:54:55 PM

3

How to hide joists from 3d rendering?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 1, 2014 at 11:03:51 PM

1

Aligned to selected levels.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Jul 17, 2016 at 9:49:50 PM

13

Site Stats

Members:

1292500

Objects:

20154

Forum Posts:

150040

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2321

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights