RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

233 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 31, 2005 at 11:05:55 PM | Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

#1

nextvkin


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 2, 2005
19 Posts
No Rating


Hello, Can anyone tell me how they deal with importing from Acad to Revit a site plan for example, then putting a building on it and then exporting it back to Acad in such a way that there's no fiddly rotating every time (maybe initially). Also bearing in mind that the building may not be sitting squarely relative to the screen. Thank you.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 1, 2005 at 1:47:15 PM | RE: Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

#2

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


dear nextvkin i suspect there are a few threads on revitcity about this subject. have a bit of a search. we are new users, but find import/export to be relatively easy. there are loads of tricks and we are only just beginning to understand some of it. first example - we import an autocad file from our surveyors, on every project. with points in 3d. what we do is, clean it up a little, then import into 'current view', as in site plan. this way, we can use their drafting, but have our building showing correctly. if you click on the dwg, you can control it in many ways, including pushing it to background, so the building appears above it. also lots of things can turned on and off, or removed, with layer control. pretty nifty. second example - it is a cinche to import details. just create a new drafting view, import the dwg, and there it is! may need a little adjusting, but so easy. last one - just yesterday, after some previous advice from mr spot, we found the import/export layer thickness controls. cannot remember where, as i'm not at my revit computer, but you can set the way revit deals with autocad layers. will help us a lot. the best thing to do, try and try again. ring the client and tell them you will need another month, not just one day! and then surprise them with full 3d, documented in a few days. hope all that rambling helped.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 1, 2005 at 11:25:04 PM | RE: Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

#3

nextvkin


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 2, 2005
19 Posts
No Rating


latemore, Thanks for your reply. I've found that linking an Acad drawing origin to origin works best - it's like xrefing in Acad using 0,0 as insertion point so that everything falls into the right place. Unfortunately sometimes the 0,0 point is too far away and Revit can't handle it, so it links it in centre to centre - you can imagine what happens, the centre of the site is different from the centre of say a floor plan. I know we're supposed to use Revit on its own, but if we have plans already done in Acad (and we do), it's easy to just pick the lines to create walls. There are also other issues, but I'll keep working on it & see what happens.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 2, 2005 at 4:08:05 PM | RE: Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

#4

tyar74


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 13, 2005
15 Posts
No Rating


Import your site plan into revit without rotating it in any way, then use a callout box to create another view that you then can rotate to be orthogonal to the screen. Be sure to pin the original site plan so that you can't move it or rotate it in Revit. Back in autocad, carefully measure the rotation of of the site plan or individual buildings, whatever needs to be rotated normal to your screen (use every decimal place autocad will give you to get it as accurate as possible - I think it's 8 places) then as you rotate the callout window, type in the rotation angle you measured in autocad with all 8 decimal places. Any less and you will be slightly off in the rotation. If you have plans drawn in autocad for successive floors, they will need to be imported at their respective level without any rotation directly on top of your site plan. Go through the same process of creating a callout and rotating it to have your floor plans appear orthogonal to the screen. Once you have your plans normal to your screen, your model will be as well once you start building it. Anything you then export back to autocad from those rotated callouts will come into autocad just as it was shown on the screen. It can then be imported back into revit directly over what was exported. For floor plans or a site plan that you want to look orthogonal to the screen or page, just turn highlight the callout surrounding the viw, right-click and "hide annotation in view."

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 2, 2005 at 4:10:24 PM | RE: Importing from & exporting to AutoCAD

#5

tyar74


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 13, 2005
15 Posts
No Rating


Also, when importing, link the file, and use automatic placement to insert the drawing. Which one you method of automatic placement isnt as important as being consistent in how you bring in successive dwg's....i.e. do them all the same way.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

importing Autocad files - modelspace & paperspace!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 17, 2007 at 1:25:49 PM

2

Trouble w/ exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 5:18:07 PM

8

exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 6:24:08 PM

3

Exporting Layouts in to AutoCAD / piping issue...

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 4, 2008 at 9:12:10 PM

9

importing from AutoCAD

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 19, 2007 at 6:47:15 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1706748

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 11.6413

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights