RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

333 Users Online (154 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> why can't Revit track room finish by automaticly?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 at 3:56:54 PM | why can't Revit track room finish by automaticly?

#1

xixiha


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 31, 2010
77 Posts
No Rating


Well, this is more a 'why' question, not a how question. Just believe there is always a practical reason behind every setting. It's already Revit 11 now, there must be some reason why they don't set this up? Just curious.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 at 10:30:30 PM | why can't Revit track room finish by automaticly?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


You can assign a finish to surfaces of rooms and track it.... but you want it to be automatic?  Do your walls / follors only reside in one room?  I doubt it.

 

Eventually we may have a finish category that you can apply by room but seem that this could be real complicated ... wainscots, jogged walls, accent areas - just too many variables.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 at 10:57:48 PM | why can't Revit track room finish by automaticly?

#3

xixiha


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 31, 2010
77 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I figured out after I post the question. Exactly speaking, it's not because like floor not only reside in one room, but because there might be more than one wall material in one room.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 12, 2010 at 11:16:31 PM | why can't Revit track room finish by automaticly?

#4

snowyweston


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
61 Posts
No Rating


It's a major bugbear of our office that we can't migrate all of the ID packages we require into Revit - and finishes are a key one.

We've experimented with instance based shared parameters for walls with "paint finish side 1" and "paint finish side 2" but that was a pig to manage, and had no bearing on the wall in the model itself which would only render and tag in RLEs the material assigned to the type's layers.

Painting's another option we've tried, but that's fairly labourious also, even with a nice 3D view only showing all the walls and running amok with the paintbrush. It's certainly been the most rewarding in terms of our experiment models, but then they've only been 4-6 room affairs, where we've hardly replicated the size (200+ rooms) and complexity (mental health) of our projects so the workload ishard to scale up. It also requires a fair amount of split facing work, which I've never enjoyed.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room finish schedule question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 8, 2009 at 8:33:52 PM

5

Can't generate the room finish schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 15, 2007 at 8:30:58 PM

2

Room finish Schedule showing Deleted Rooms

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 8:56:37 PM

1

Adding Room Tag Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 24, 2006 at 3:29:46 PM

1

Revit 2016 Room finish schedule and material schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 9, 2017 at 9:41:41 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1531257

Objects:

21318

Forum Posts:

151315

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1092

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights