RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

237 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Design Option Sharing

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 4:31:26 PM | Design Option Sharing

#1

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


I was wondering if anyone else has come across any issues working with design options where you might need to share? I'm working on a feasibility study that examines different options for adding and annexing to an existing building. The options are large enough that it requires two people to work on one option together. However, I have been encountering some problems with ownership of the design options. I've tried creating separate worksets for each half of the option but this proves to be irrelevant because Revit will still disallow editing because the option set is owned by another person. I'm not sure where revit maintains this feedback across users because it is not part of worksets or views. I've also tried creating a subset to the design option and this makes the other set within the option invisible. Classic. Does anyone have any advice for working this way? Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 6:55:53 PM | Design Option Sharing

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Without testing this . . . . don't check out the workset. Just borrow the objects you need to work on then relinquish them as soon as possible.
That would eliminate the workset ownership conflict, no?

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 7:06:09 PM | Design Option Sharing

#3

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


Can you split the design option into 2 seperate design options? Split the building down the middle or something.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 7:11:23 PM | Design Option Sharing

#4

gdoherty0102


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 21, 2010
102 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I am with DG on this...it sounds like you "own" the workset rather than just borrowing elements out of it.  I have not used design options in a while, but you should be able to work multiples in them...make sure you do not own the workset/elements. 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 7:15:46 PM | Design Option Sharing

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Paul, I don't think that would work because objects in one design option do not 'mesh' or 'intregrate' with objects of a different design option so where they met would have to be a cold joint. If that is the case then 'yes'.
The primary option does however integrate with the main model.
Yes, don't 'own' the workset. Borrow the objects instead.


Edited on: Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 1:17:09 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 8:04:00 PM | Design Option Sharing

#6

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


The ownership issue what I'm not clear on is within the design option: I do not own the objects within the workset and even if I have the elements separated that I want to share in different worksets, the error that is reported says that it is the ownership of the design option itself not any of the worksets in particular. 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 8:06:17 PM | Design Option Sharing

#7

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Oh, and as far as splitting them into separate design options, if I do this then I lose visibility of the primary and visa versa. They do not remain together for some reason though they are under the same option heading. I may have missed something there as well however.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 8:28:52 PM | Design Option Sharing

#8

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Just for clarification.
When using 'design options'. There are objects that remain in the 'main model' and then there are objects that get move / copied to 'design options'. There are 'design option sets' that contain 'design options'.
Each design option set has 1 primary option that integrates better with the ''main model'.
With design options the 'view' can only display one option per option set + the main model and there is only 1 main model for all options in all option sets. Furthermore if the view's VG is set to be 'automatic' then the view displays the 'active option' + the main model. That is per option set.
Clear as mud ?

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 8:56:56 PM | Design Option Sharing

#9

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


I understand that. All of that is kosher. What I was asking was how the work within the design option can be shared. Can you share the work within a design option?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 11:28:19 PM | Design Option Sharing

#10

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


Thats not quite what I was referring to, my fault for not communicating clearly. Instead doing all the work under one design option set. Split the work into 2 option sets, each option set would have a primary option and alternate options. That way each worker would have ownership of his own option set. You just need to decide where to split the work load.

 Is that more clear? In Revit you can create option sets with multiple options under them. I'm saying create 2 option sets.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 4, 2010 at 4:38:00 PM | Design Option Sharing

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


winchester, 

 

Owning the DO is a problem with multiple users.  I'm not sure how this will work but have you tried using a linked file for this option.  If the option is in its own file, multiple users could work on it.  In the primary file it could then be in the DO...

 

Again, I have never tried this.  I've done a lot with DO's and linked but never a Link in a DO.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 6, 2010 at 3:14:32 PM | Design Option Sharing

#12

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


That's a really good suggestion. We had been bouncing around the same idea. I'll try it out and see how it works and perhaps post on it later on. Thanks!

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 6, 2010 at 4:02:19 PM | Design Option Sharing

#13

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Paul, having the subsets of options within one overall scheme still runs into a visibility issue as one cannot have more than one subset showing at a time (which makes sense). Conversely, Multiple option sets could work, but then there is a redundancy of option sets that runs the risk of over complicating the design options once more schemes are added. I think this does function as a a workaround, but perhaps not ideally in my case. Thank you for your advice.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Design Option Issue - walls in 1 design option cutting thru a 2nd option

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 4:55:04 PM

2

Design Option view setting

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, May 17, 2014 at 1:02:11 AM

3

Design Options - black hole.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 14, 2007 at 6:54:40 PM

2

Railing wont host to stair created in design option

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 24, 2011 at 8:54:39 PM

7

Filled region within detail family not showing in design option

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 22, 2014 at 12:24:46 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1459002

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150670

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.1770

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights