RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

193 Users Online (69 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 3:36:44 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#1

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


I work for Indiana University Architect's Office. As you can imagine, most of what we do is renovations and additions, and not new buildings. We are in the middle of creating framework models for all University buildings, and then plan to use these framework models for additions and remodels. We are still trying to figure out the best approach to updating a master Revit building model(s) with project as-built Revit models as they come in. Does anyone have a workflow that you can share? We obviously want to find a way to incorporate changes with the least amount of duplicate effort as possible. Our goal is to have a archival model(s) that represent existing conditions and then another model(s) that represent ongoing active projects in a building for our smaller projects so all the staff working on that building can see what is being done and share data.

 

One approach we are exploring is to set up a master project file for our smaller in-house projects that would contain all the active projects going on in that building with each project being its own design option (everything filed/parameters by IU project #) and then when a project is completed the design option is accepted and it gets merged into this master project model. Is there a merge model command or program? Any workflow documents would be helpful, as most books I've gone through are dedicated to workflows of new buildings.

Thanks,

Scott


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 3:59:50 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Design options were not meant for this, linked projects are the way to go.  The overall building shell might be one project with interior projects being seperate. As projects develope, different areas can be Revitized to become part of your overall BIM model for any particular structure. 

 

Your overall campus might be a master site plan with linked in building shell projects - each in a seperate workset.  There is no way that you want an overall project with everything in it.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 9:19:06 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#3

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


Ok, what do you mean by Revitized? This is the part that we don't understand, and thought 'design options' was a good solution.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 30, 2010 at 9:31:15 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Revitized.... For now, can I assume you have your buildings in a CAD format?  Those plans can be linked into Revit, CAD plans for now but as areas are remodeled, you would want to model elements rather than leaving them in CAD. That is when you would Revitize (convert) CAD elements to 3D Revit elements.

 

This is all a matter of priority.  I would assume, building shells would be first priority because they can impact other buildings.  


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 1:30:47 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#5

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


Oh Sorry, I thought you meant something else by 'Revitized'. We are already in the process of converting CAD drawings to Revit Models. 

I am looking more for a workflow of how models are linked, because we didn't understand this we considered 'Deisgn Options'. Specifically, we have a master model or 'central model' that will be the framework (skin, cores, grids, structure, levels). How to link this to a site model? How to create interior models or in-house renovation projects and link back to the master framework model? When projects are completed and construction is completed, how do we update the master framework model to show that this linked model (new construction) is completed and is now existing? keeping in mind that we want to keep the central file a manageable size....... Thanks for your help.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 1:34:14 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#6

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


I am looking specifically for a step by step workflow or 'how to guide' that I can use as a reference to teach other employees how to go through this process. We are just beginning the transition from CAD to Revit and everybody has beginner training.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 1:58:41 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I wrote: "...Your overall campus might be a master site plan with linked in building shell projects - each in a seperate workset.  There is no way that you want an overall project with everything in it. "  so

  1. Overall site plan project.  This could be one model or with a large campus, it might be better as multiple site models linked into one master site using worksets.  A jigsaw puzzle that overall would give you the entire site but individually could be used by seperate structures.  By linking each file as a seperate workset, you could use this file using reduced worksets for faster loading and manipulation when only portions of the site are needed.
  2. Individual building projects.  Each of these would have an appropriate site model linked in.  The overall project might just be the shell, and individual areas might be seperate projects linked into this model.... again assigning each link in its own workset.
  3. Each building shell would be linked back into its own site model.  In the overall site model, these nested links could be controlled as well.

Remember - our systems are not limitless.  We completed a university student center that by itself was approaching 300 meg in size.  That project was in release 8.  The only way we could work on it with our 32 bit machines was to use limited worksets.  You only loaded what you needed to see for what you were doing.  So, while working in a plan, I would not have the site, mechanical, electrical or plumbing models loaded.

 

Do you understand?  Plan ahead....Understand worksets, understand reduced worksets, never insert CAD drawings, Link cad drawings (if you must) in a workset.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 6:52:09 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#8

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


Sounds to me like you need to use Phases. This is the time feature of Revit. You can create the existing layout in the Existing Phase and then the alterations in the new construction phase. After the renovation is complete the phases can be merged to create a new "Existing" phase.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 16, 2010 at 4:50:20 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#9

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for both of your replies. This is all very helpful.

The problem that we are encountering now is this. Let's say there are two projects going on in the same building. One project is done by an in-house person on our network, the other project is being given out to a consultant (off-network). So essentially, there are now two master files -the one in-house that we are working ( A & MEP) and a copy of the master that was given to the consultant at a snapshot in time (either before the in-house project started, or during).

How then, when the consultant has finished the project and has as-builts can we merge the two models (because essentially we will have two pieces in each model that will be different). Should we use phasing? I.E. create a group in the consultants revit model of that phase and then link it back into our framework model? Should we use Model Compare or Model Review? Is there a command like in AutoCAD where you use mapping to find the differences in two files and a third file is created with these different pieces?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 16, 2010 at 6:37:47 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#10

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


I'm guessing the off-network consultant is an Architect using Revit?

One possible way using phases is to instruct this consultant to use his own phase when making his drawings he could demo whatever her needs to from the existing master plan. When he sends you the as-builts, you can create a phase filter to only show the components in the consultants phase (hide all existing and demo objects). You could then just copy and paste the new model components back to your own master file.

That way your master plan would have fully updated geometry and with it the floor plans and ceiling plans. You wouldn't have the annotated plans and details from the off-network consultant however. But at least you would have an up to date model of the building that you could give to future projects.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 23, 2010 at 8:09:02 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#11

Genna


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 5, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


I work for a firm that does a lot of university work and am encountering the same problem.  It is quite common to have two or more separate projects occuring simulataneously in the same building.  And often there are different design teams on each one, requiring duplicate models for each project.  When all is said and done, the information from each model needs to be compiled into a master file to have an accurate record of the building. 

I found this site rather helpful in implementing a standard workflow:

http://revit.in/merging-two-workset-projects.html

Hope this helps!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 30, 2010 at 3:04:07 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#12

Shoeusc


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2010
12 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Paulh and Genna for your posts, I really like both of your ideas.

I feel pretty sold on the phasing option that you described Paulh, but other's arn't on board yet, especially with the copy paste (because apparently sometimes objects drop into the model in weird locations (I'm not sure why, seems like a problem that AutoDesk needs to solve).... I think it might take some exploration.

Genna, I really like this workflow you found, although it does seem like there is a lot of upfront work that needs to be done, but binding seems like a better solution than copy paste. But the upfront work is where I get hesitant. I am only one guy, and there are lots of projects, and I also have the task of continually creating framewrok models of all the existing campus buildings, it seems like I would be spending a lot of time to make this merge happen seamlessly without duplicate or missing objects.

 Maybe a combination of your two ideas would work, using phases, purge unused and bind to merge the models....I also found the HOK article on Model Compare interesting. Wouldn't it be great if you could use Model Compare to create a third model, which in turn you could bind into the master framework model. Then you could ungroup that and be left with an updated master model with as-builts....


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 4:57:18 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#13

Bm3875


active
Bm3875 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 18, 2005
140 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Why not a hybrid of both workflows?

WWHub wrote:

  1. Overall site plan project.  This could be one model or with a large campus, it might be better as multiple site models linked into one master site using worksets.  A jigsaw puzzle that overall would give you the entire site but individually could be used by seperate structures.  By linking each file as a seperate workset, you could use this file using reduced worksets for faster loading and manipulation when only portions of the site are needed.
  2. Individual building projects.  Each of these would have an appropriate site model linked in.  The overall project might just be the shell, and individual areas might be seperate projects linked into this model.... again assigning each link in its own workset.
  3. Each building shell would be linked back into its own site model.  In the overall site model, these nested links could be controlled as well.

With emphasis on item 2... "The overall project might just be the shell, and individual areas might be seperate projects linked into this model...." The "overall project" here would be a building in it's entirety. Individual "projects" within this building would be broken off into individual models (links) as warrented. As each project is completed, the newly completed project model as-built is LINKED back into the overall building model and placed on a workset specific to the project number. This way a completely seperate electronic model of the project is maintained independently for accessibility later.

Now, in regards to phasing, within each project model linked into the overall building model would be phases specific to the project at the time (existing conditions, demo, new construction, etc).

I have haven't tried this yet but in theory I think it is sound. I have a multi-million square foot bio-tech facility with buildings ranging in age from over 100 years old to 5 years I am hoping to implement this theory in soon. I am currently in the existing conditions data collection phase.

Good luck!


-----------------------------------

Brandon Pike | Owner/BIM Specialist

Photo

cad.web.print

website: http://www.thinkdesign-studios.com

blog: http://www.bimtionary.blogspot.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 1:11:14 AM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#14

jhowramos


active

Joined: Sat, Jan 8, 2011
2 Posts
No Rating


download revit boock , download blocks and talk with people around world.

here:

 

http://revitblocos.blogspot.com/


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 9:54:44 AM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#15

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


"download revit boock , download blocks " - What is "Boock"? and BTW, Revit don't use "Blocks", blocks is in Autocad, in Revit we call them "FAMILIES"

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Implementing as-builts

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, May 9, 2011 at 4:42:33 PM

4

updating model

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 1:59:53 PM

1

Create Revit from Hand Drawn As-builts

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 4, 2012 at 2:10:14 PM

1

Linking Revit Architecture, MEP and Structural without using Navisworks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 13, 2011 at 5:03:41 AM

2

Updating materials in family editor not updating project.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, May 16, 2019 at 5:22:46 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1491264

Objects:

21156

Forum Posts:

151138

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.4419

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights