RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

171 Users Online (170 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit ROI >> Revit vs Archicad

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 25, 2010 at 9:59:48 AM | Revit vs Archicad

#1

DavidQ


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 25, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Old topic? Yes, but I personally haven't found a good thread where people actually use both of the software to a good level to give a reliable answer.

I think my quick answer for this would be:

Revit is a 'smarter' software and performs better in compared with Archicad, but eventually requires a bit more sophisticated understanding to handle. So depending on your 'level' and purposes, you may not appreciate what Revit has to offer and find Archicad is a better match for you. I think it's a bit like the difference between a manual car and an automatic one, also the manual one is from a slightly better car maker Winking

I found that competent architects would prefer Revit, where as Interior Design would use Archicad for their works.

About me: I am trying to be a Revit BIM Manager, with a history of BIM Managing with Archicad. I will try to help giving some insights to those who wander here in the wonderful world of Revit thinking about Archicad...

Anything please ask.

(I'm new to RevitCity and please pardon my imperfect English.)


-----------------------------------
Revit > Archicad

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 26, 2010 at 8:53:04 AM | Revit vs Archicad

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Personally, I do not know much about ArchiCAD but from what I understand, Revit's family building is far superior to what you can do in ArchiCAD.  I think that is part of the reason why we are seeing such a boom in manufacturer content being created for Revit.  Something that wasn't done at all for ArchiCAD.

 

In our area (Ohio), I don't know any firms using archicad.  Almost everyone was using autocad so the switch to Revit is almost automatic.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 26, 2010 at 12:30:04 PM | Revit vs Archicad

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Interoperablity. Enough said. Archicad dosen't even come close.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 10:57:31 AM | Revit vs Archicad

#4

whra


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 21, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Ok guys,

I am ArchiCAD user since version 6, I worked deep in ArchiCAD, I learn how to program GDL objects etc...  so I consider my self with enough knolewge in ArchiCad. For my work I changed recently to Revit 1 year ago, and I was surprised to found not only and easy way to work but several tools that I ever wait that ArchiCAD bring version to version I found it on Revit, the comments that I have about revit was different than the reality. Both are great softwares, and if you have one or another just use it, go deeply on your knowlege and you will get a great job and benefits, look deeply if you are really interested on change and spend several thousand dollars buying ArchiCAD or Revit, if not stop arguing and learn more what you have already.

What I found on Revit is and easy way to work, ArchiCAD is preatty easy too , but certanly the way to manipulate the work on Revit has a certain adventage, the dimensions attached to the objects and align tool certanly make wide easy your job, changing walls , creating different shapes that before version 15 on ArchiCAD was impossible to creat without expensives plugins, railings, stairs etc... I found more easy to work on revit. Honestly I dont tried version 15 yet, and looks like is preatty good know you can make complex shapes on ArchiCAD, I like very much on Revit the phases, but know in ArchiCAD 15 they introduce that.  The libraries in ArchiCAD are more detailed, and looks prettied, a lot of parametres etc... but I dont missed, and a reality on the market is that the companies are making 3d objcets for Revit more than for ArchiCAD saddly. Another useful tool is the keynotes, ArchiCAD do not have it, you need to buy a plug in. Create PARAMETRIC library on ArchiCAD is impossible if you do not lear GDL programming, which is preatty easy and funny to build but  not every body likes to programm and crate objects, in Revit is preatty easy to create library objects without programming skills and created parametric. One comment that I hear frequently in ArchiCAD users is that Revit has the problem that the walls and slabs are attached so when you move something all moves together, know that I used it it is great, and I like it a lot, if you do not need it just detach it and that's it.

 

I have a lot of comments, but I feel really comfortable using Revit now and I dont have plans to comeback to ArchiCAD at least until I try the version 15, but steel I feel that I am working faster and organizing easy the project.  now that AutoDesk has other products with high technology like Maya, 3d max, inventor, etc... this bring to Revit  other kind of technology......

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 11:55:05 AM | Revit vs Archicad

#5

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 13, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


@whra, the key on your post was the "creating different shapes that before version 15 on ArchiCAD was impossible to creat without expensives plugins, railings, stairs etc..."

In archicad

You CANT do terrain without a plugin (architerra or sumthing like that)

You cant do custom stairs withot a  plugin

you cant add complex geometry without losing control of it ( you have to reimport it , override ... not even close to thein place modification of mass geometry), and you need a plugin from cinema 4d... and it sux

In revit (things that i miss, but not really really important):

Elevations and sections looks flat, no sense of depth ( wich in archicad is controled by overrides depending on the depth of the cutplane)

the default 3d view is a perspective camera, and you can enable a WASD or control with arrows the movement of the camera, the pan movement is controled by the mouse... that makes the exploration of the model way faster, and it has a "sense" of reality. In revit you cant control almost anything in a perspecive view >_<

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 5:33:18 PM | Revit vs Archicad

#6

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Great thread from whra!

Although I never use Archicad and it has become a rare thread for comparsion between the 2 programs these days.

So it is good to see someone to share their insight with Archicad.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit vs. Archicad [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2007 at 11:57:54 PM

15

REVIT 2009 VS ARCHICAD 12 [ 1 2 3 ]

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Aug 22, 2012 at 10:03:49 PM

33

Converting a Revit v 8.0 file into Archicad v10.0

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 24, 2009 at 4:21:51 PM

8

Architect is using ArchiCAD Structural Consultant using Revit?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Nov 27, 2008 at 11:23:30 PM

4

Wish it looks like ArchiCad

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Nov 28, 2008 at 2:26:55 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1989239

Objects:

22877

Forum Posts:

152179

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3704

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights