RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

264 Users Online (133 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 at 12:28:47 PM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#1

CloudDwellers


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2010
4 Posts
No Rating


Has anybody come across the problem of the program crashing any time the application button is clicked???  It also crashed when using the shortcut to activate the same button.  I am using Revit Architecture 2010 on current Parallels software on current Mac OS.  The only thing I can think that is happening is that the new version of Parallels is not agreeing with Revit 2010.    


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 5, 2010 at 3:21:57 PM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Which version of Parallels are you using?  I'm on 5.0.992 and do not have this issue.  I'm also using 2011 but did not have issues with 2010 either.  

Is this an issue you had from a fresh install?  

Can you get to the options to turn off Direct3d?

What settings do you have for your VM?  Mine look like this: http://screencast.com/t/4P2mxsUmRqS

What kind of Mac are you running this on?  Specs? etc?

 

 


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 11, 2010 at 1:34:18 PM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#3

CloudDwellers


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2010
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your response Carl. 

 

My specs are as follows:  I have a Macbook Pro 3.06 Ghz dual core with either 4 or 5 of my 8 Gb of ram dedicated to the VM.  Video memory setup on mine is exactly the same as yours. The only different Optimization setting was that I had the Adaptive Hypervisor ticked while you did not.   I tried unchecking this but it made no difference. 

 

 

I am running Parallels build 6.0.11828, Revit Architecture 2010, Mac OS 10.6.4 & Windows 7

 

 

Revit had been working fine for a good while, and the crashing seemed to have started when I went to Parallels 6, but this may just be coincidence.  I can use the Revit normally, as long as I don’t hit the application button (which you can imagine is pretty painful given all the stuff that’s under there).  There is no performance difference between now and prior to the crashing while doing intensive tasks like high quality renders. 

 

I hadn’t heard of Direct3D acceleration before.  As Direct 3d acceleration control is in the graphics tab of the options menu accessed via the application menu, I can not get anywhere near it without crashing Revit.  I tried to find out if Parallels 6 and Revit 2010 have compatability problems but it has been like banging my head against a brick wall.

 

Any bright ideas are greatly appreciated

 

Jason

Cloud Dwellers  

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 12, 2010 at 12:56:11 PM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#4

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Hi Jason,

Not sure how attached you are  to using Parrallels, but one solution might be to switch to BootCamp. It's simple software that came free with your machine, and although I'm not totally sure about this, but I think it allocates more RAM to be dedicated to Windows since it actually boots to Windows instead of running it as a program in OSx. I've had fantastic performance with BootCamp on my machine, and very few software problems besides a videocard issue that was resolved over time with updates. I know it might be a hassle to switch, but if you can't figure out what's wrong with Parallels, BootCamp might be your best bet. 

Specs:

MacBook Pro 17", Intel Core i7 2.67GHz, 4.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro 64x

 PS: Could it be that your version of Windows (i.e. 64x or 32x) is playing a role in this? 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 3:16:02 AM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#5

CloudDwellers


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2010
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your feedback Rastaman

I hadn't thought of ditching parallels and doing a windows install with Boot Camp.  I don't think it is the RAM allocation issue though, because the VM is getting 4-5 of my 8 gigabytes, and the trigger of the crash is something that uses almost none of it.  

You are right in that it could equally by a problem associated with windows rather than parallels. I am running a 64bit install of Windows 7.  Both Windows and Parallels are up to date, and I'm not sure how else I could tackle it, other than maybe asking the Parallels people if they will let me go backwards to version 5 rather than 6.      

Jason 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 1:23:30 AM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#6

pyrm1d


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 1, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Hey rastamanCP,

Im actually about to order the Macbook Pro, which i will run in bootcamp most of the time. Im torn between the i7 and i5 - the only downside to the i7 is that it runs pretty hot in bootcamp. How do you find it? 

 

Ill be using it mainly for Revit, Rhino + grasshopper so will be stuckin bootcamp for 90% of the time!

 

Cheers 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 3:25:08 AM | Revit crashes when clicking Application button ( the 'Big R' button)

#7

CloudDwellers


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2010
4 Posts
No Rating


 

Before this thread veers off topic, I should say that I got a workaround for my crashing problem sorted out yesterday.  I have circumvented the need to click on the Application button by using the keyboard shortcut txt file to program a shortcut for everything I need that is within that menu.   

Even though I hadn't customised shortcuts before, it sounds like a pretty obvious approach in hindsight.  Still, I was the first to suggest it !

thanks all

Jason @ Cloud Dwellers 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

EUREKA!! THAT BIG OL' FILTER BUTTON

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Sun, Jul 26, 2009 at 2:02:29 PM

2

can't find the render button

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 15, 2010 at 6:15:12 PM

9

Logitech MX-1000 Mouse issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 11, 2005 at 3:56:31 PM

2

Missing Collaborate Button Revit 19

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 20, 2018 at 1:45:36 PM

1

Template to Project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 31, 2018 at 7:25:32 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1610512

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 18.5555

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights