RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

262 Users Online (88 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 7:36:53 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#31

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Answer to first question: VISIBILITY PARAMETER (which is a yes/no type parameter).  You MUST learn how to use these because they're of infinate worth in creating/modifying families.  And they're really simple once you get the hang of it.

Answer to second question: I'm not really sure if we're the only ones or not.  i haven't really looked.  Somehow or another, I've gotten by without this function (for the most part) for the past 5 or 6 years or so that I've been in RSTRUC.  I have tackled it in specific situations but I think I just kinda did a "work-around" solution rather than really taking the time to develop a joist family that works for everything (flexible).

It's very much worth your time though to go ahead and figure it out.  Not only will you have a really nice family when you're done, but you'll have learned a LOT.

Don't give up!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 9:07:42 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#32

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


OK - now i drew in four symbolic line like you suggested and I labeled each one of them as a parameter.  (below are the parameters in the "Other" category - but what is the box with the check mark in the value category?  I checked my books and can not find it)

Now all I need to do is figure out how to write the formula for each line.  Every time I try one it comes up with a message that I can not do it.

 

I will keep trying.



Attached Images

99759_joist_parameter_-_cc.jpg

-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:02:12 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#33

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Got it!  Assign a visibility parameter to each of the 4 lines.  Then create a formula for each of the visibility parameters.  See the attachment for the formulas.  Works like a charm based on the Extension Dimension.



Attached Images

99772_Parameters.bmp

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 10:03:44 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#34

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I used "Start" and "End" in my parameter names rather than "Left" & "Right" so as to better coincide with the Out of the box parameters.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 1:20:44 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#35

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Can I ask what are the boxes with the check marks under value - what do they represent?


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 1:29:15 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#36

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yea, those boxes are based on the value of the Start Extension and the End Extension.  In the example that I uploaded, both of those are set to 2'-0", which is of course greater than 0, so the forumla causes the boxes to be checked.

If the forumla is TRUE, then it checks the box (makes visible).  If the formula is FALSE, then it unchecks the box.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 3:11:29 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#37

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


It keeps telling me if I put one symbolic line over another that they might loop - did you get that warning?


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 3:13:38 PM | AAARRRGGGHH! Joist questions!

#38

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I also thought that maybe I could just use two lines, one on each side of the center of the joist and just use them for the visibilty, then it would turn off if no extension and the joist would be the way it was out of the box.  It worked on one end but not the other.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Joist sitting on Sloped beams

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 1:09:37 AM

1

Joist Seats on sloped joists

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 24, 2012 at 6:27:46 PM

13

Sloped joist line type

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 25, 2010 at 6:25:02 PM

1

Roof Joist

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:37:29 PM

2

open web steel joist

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 26, 2012 at 8:09:27 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1708237

Objects:

22271

Forum Posts:

151789

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4368

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights