RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

364 Users Online (186 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sweep in Various Plans

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 5:25:39 AM | Sweep in Various Plans

#1

LSY2010


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 20, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


Can anyone help me with creating a sweep that travels along the Z-Axis , then X-Axis, then the Y Axis and back to the  Axis.  I have tried setting work planes but Revit wont aollow me to creat them on the diffrent axis to draw my path.  My goal is to show duct work as it moves through the building.  Whats the best way to accomplishthis.

thanks


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 10:33:16 AM | Sweep in Various Plans

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Look, use "Model Lines" to create the "Skeleton" of the path/object then use "Solid Sweep" and use "Pick Path".... just like that...

Watch this: http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=19342&start=15

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 1:59:01 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#3

LSY2010


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 20, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply, but I'm still have the problems of getting my path to connect when I transition to a travel in the Z direction.  Im I supposed to be adjusting the work planes or something?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 5:30:30 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


I'm working in Revit Arch. not in MEP but you must "play" with the "Work planes" and differents views to create that kind of skeleton.

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 5:38:04 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#5

LSY2010


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 20, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


I forgot to mention I'm using Revit 2011 as well.  I'm just using the sweep command to represent the duct work.  How can I change the planes to accomplish a model similar to what you did in the phto u sent earlier?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 6:00:20 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Watch the video: http://screencast.com/t/JmgvaXtzUuiP

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 6:20:46 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#7

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


If I understood you correctly..... sweep works only on one plane at a time... (i.e., X,Y or Z,X...) you cannot join continous path in different directions to form solid sweep. But you can "intersect" them.

-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 10:46:30 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#8

LSY2010


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 20, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


WORKED PERFECTLY!!!  Thanks!  I have my life back!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 21, 2010 at 2:23:30 PM | Sweep in Various Plans

#9

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I didn't know that would work... very nice Typhoon!


-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall sweep shows where it should not

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 16, 2007 at 9:59:52 PM

1

site plans and buildings plans

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Apr 17, 2012 at 1:40:07 PM

4

Can You Flex a Sweep in Components

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 3, 2013 at 7:09:23 PM

2

Sweep Profiles in Version 9

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 3, 2006 at 7:14:05 AM

0

Using Area Plans as Main Floor and Unit Layout plans

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Mar 29, 2021 at 6:59:33 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1652358

Objects:

22103

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2871

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights