RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

200 Users Online (42 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> problems with reference planes when creating a mass

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 14, 2010 at 9:14:39 PM | problems with reference planes when creating a mass

#1

danielacm


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 14, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


1.how can I do to draw one figure or form using two or more reference planes, for example  how can I do to start drawing a model line in one reference plan and to end it on another diferent ref plane.... 

2....another doubt is (see atacched "sketch"Winkinghow can I do to copy one element that is located on a  ref plane and to paste it on another different ref plane...   by now  that's not posible, the paste option is not more activated once I have changed my ref plane..

3. How can I set a curved workplane, I mean, if I want to set a face of my mass as my current workplane (to start drawing on it, or to make a void) and that face is slgthly curved I cant set it.... tha´s bringing me  a real problem...  Ihave to be possible to set a face as work plane even if it is curved.

 

 



Attached Images

83340_IMG0176.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 at 3:51:55 AM | problems with reference planes when creating a mass

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Sorry, but I'm really having trouble following your diagram and identifying what you are actually trying to create?

 

Remembering with the conceptual mass its easy to work with a simple solid and use the xray model to add profiles, edges and grips to create more complex forms.  In this screen shot I just created a simply sweep by drawing a path on level 1 and using the first point to host a profile.  Then I created form and modified the end profile to have a different profile.  I could also grab the intermediate nodes and give them elevations to create a 3D path.

 

Work planes are a lot less constraining in this environment. 



Attached Images

83356_Sample.png

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 at 2:25:05 AM | problems with reference planes when creating a mass

#3

danielacm


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 14, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for replying, but this is not what I'm asking.... maybe I wasn´t clear... ok

 

my 3 doubts described before are general doubts, that surged just playing with the masses...

 

but are very important to solve to start modeling my project...

1. how to draw for example a line  starting in one workplane and end that line in other plane, I mean, like in sketch up modeling ....

or you can´t in revit??, that would be a big constraint if you couldn´t..

2. how can you copy a form form one refernce plane to another??

3. how can i set a curved face as my current workplane?, to draw in it  

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:11:36 AM | problems with reference planes when creating a mass

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


If i understood correctly your questions:

1: like you can see in my first image you can draw whatever you want starting in one level and finish in other level, just set your work plan, go to a elevation view then draw like you want, then you can adjust the path, edge, points like you want.

 

2: Watch image 2 and 3, it's just a copy / paste by levels

 

3: To answer this question watch this: http://autodesk-revit.blogspot.com/2010/10/revit-2011-sketch-on-non-planar-surface.html

 



Edited on: Sat, Oct 16, 2010 at 5:12:18 AM

Attached Images

83412_mass1.png83412_mass2.png83412_mass3.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 16, 2010 at 4:28:46 PM | problems with reference planes when creating a mass

#5

danielacm


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 14, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


thank you!!

 

the third"answer" about the question of drawing on a curved surface is only available for the subsciption andvantage pack... m Sad is there another way to do it?

 Thank you for your time! I´m just new on it, getting started 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Listing the Abilities of Reference Planes

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Sep 10, 2012 at 2:24:07 AM

2

Locating Reference Planes in Elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 1, 2008 at 1:05:13 PM

1

reference planes

Community >> The Studio

Wed, May 24, 2006 at 3:19:12 PM

0

Detail Lines and Reference Planes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 7:37:46 PM

3

Creating Family Template / Reference Planes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 7:05:20 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1706589

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5493

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights