RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

225 Users Online (78 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Faster Rendering Times

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 7, 2010 at 7:55:09 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#1

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi, can anyone tell me how to get faster rendering times? I am currently still working with Revit 2009, but I also have 2010 and 2011. My computer is an HP with an i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80Ghz, 8 GB RAM, a NDIDIA GeForce GT 230 graphics card, 920 GB total hard disk. I am running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit system. My computer is expandable to 16 GB of RAM. I have heard that I should go with more RAM, or would a different vid card be better? I don't want to go out and buy a new computer, because this one is only a few months old. I just want to upgrade it. I have attached the details of my computer if it would be any help answering my questions. Any help from the Revit Guru's would be very much appreciated. Thank you all.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 7, 2010 at 8:46:32 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Keith,

 

Your hardware is fine, the rendering is processor based unless you start using 3ds Max..... There are many functions you can do to speed times up: section boxes, less glossy materials, light groups, PNG instead of JPG material maps. I am pretty sure I wrote a thread on all the steps you can take.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:35:01 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#3

KeithWBrown


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 30, 2009
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks Alabaster. I appreciate your help.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 3:47:46 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#4

stafek


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 3, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

     I would like to ask little bit offtopic  / we are considerling buying computer with NVIDIA GeForce CUDA GT230 1.5GB PCIe x16 Graphics Card (it is part of  HP Elite 7100 MT computer our IT is offering us for good price), as this card is not listed in supported hardware, I would like to ask, if you have some experience with this card running Revit 2011 and Autocad 2011 / is this card OK?

 

Thanks a lot for any feedback!

Best regards 

Frantisek Stafek...


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 5:47:28 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#5

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Stafek,

 

thats not a very highpower card from what i know, what type/size projects do you usually work on? I am not saying that is not a good card, but there is room for improvement


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 6:02:00 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#6

stafek


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 3, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

     We've done so far two big projects in Revit. One was a 300 appartments residential house ended in early stage with 30MBs central file, other was 150 appartments house, with complex geometry, ended with 90MB central file in sort of building permit stage (it serverd for coordinatiton during site construction, final working drawings were done by other company)

 Question is if the graphics card has some impact on speed in Revit and in which areas. Rendering? Or basic display? What I've understood was, that it is not necessary to have best "gaming" / animation / modelling card, but important is enough memory (which this card has) and compatibility issues (which we don't know).  But maybe that I'm completely wrong on this...

Do you have some suggestion? Should we buy this  computer, throw away the card and buy additional HP NVIDIA GRAPHICS PLUS QUADRO 600? This one has 1GB. But it seemed to me as overkill...

 Thanks for any hint...

Frantisek Stafek.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 6:28:46 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#7

stafek


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 3, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


One more thing... usually we have two monitors setup, so it is important for the card to support it...

Regards Frantisek Stafek...

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 3, 2010 at 6:35:09 PM | Faster Rendering Times

#8

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I've always used whatever the current low end ati firegl/firepro card is.  (currently v3750) I don't think that memory size is going to do anything for you.  I could be wrong but i've never had any issues.  Rock solid drivers and compatability are key.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Is render time in 3D Max faster then render time in Revit?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 1, 2009 at 4:20:56 PM

4

rendering walkthrought

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 25, 2006 at 3:28:49 PM

2

09' Rendering Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 9:22:51 PM

11

Eureka! Much faster rending made easy-peasy...

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 2:46:12 PM

2

Render times

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 17, 2009 at 5:50:16 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1513920

Objects:

21255

Forum Posts:

151245

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 21.6793

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights