RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

286 Users Online (130 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> square cut on shed roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 9:51:04 PM | square cut on shed roof

#1

geocox3


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 7, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


I have shed roofs on a building and want a square cut on the eaves.  ALL EAVES.  Revit is treating the top eave as if it is half of a ridge, giving me a plumb cut.  How can I get a square cut on both the low and high eaves of a shed roof?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 12, 2011 at 12:05:16 AM | square cut on shed roof

#2

passell


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 3, 2010
5 Posts
No Rating


I can't answer the exact question, but I was able to model roofs with different overhangs at different walls, so you might be able to have other properties differ as well.

Architecturally, Square cuts at the top of a shed are rare because the fascia is more exposed to the weather. Detail carefully to avoid joints where water could run down into the building.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 12, 2011 at 4:58:05 AM | square cut on shed roof

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Square cut works better when you've used the "overhang" property and picked walls rather than simply drawn the sketch.  I find square cut fails sometimes (dependent on the roof pitch) if you don't do this.

Also, set the fascia dimension to match the roof thickness. 



Edited on: Tue, Jan 11, 2011 at 10:58:47 PM

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 10, 2012 at 3:15:58 PM | square cut on shed roof

#4

jdcarling


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 31, 2011
3 Posts
No Rating


Where is the overhang property I cant find it? in Revit arch 2012


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 10, 2012 at 9:21:54 PM | square cut on shed roof

#5

sroreilly


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 17, 2011
97 Posts
No Rating


He may mean that when you pick "roof"under the home tab, in the Draw box there is the choice of pick walls (and the overhang amount, define slope tick box, or extend to wall core tickbox shows below the ribbon) or drawing lines with or without offsets.

 

I have found that odd things happen depending on which way you draw the roof.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Shed roof - top edge square cut? Please Help!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 11, 2007 at 7:20:27 PM

1

Can't make a Two Cut - Square rafter cut on a roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 15, 2011 at 12:20:30 AM

4

shed roof with dbl slopes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 15, 2011 at 1:31:08 PM

6

Square Cut Rafters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 20, 2007 at 11:45:45 PM

0

RAC09 - Roof Fascia Corner Miter on Square Cut

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 27, 2009 at 11:57:00 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1512635

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0034

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights