RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

35 Users Online (34 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> objects above - dashed line

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 at 3:12:39 AM | objects above - dashed line

#1

malex


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 10, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


is there a way to represent something that is drawn in the same level but above the viewing plane as a dashed line? for example if I look in the plan view of the first floor and have a beam that is placed below the next level I would like two dashed lines (the width of the beam) to show in the plan....also if there is an opening in the ceiling...can it be shown as a dashed line in the plan below?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 at 8:55:06 AM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#2

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 27, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hi malex the linework tool is your friend with this one, the inkpen looking thing in the toolbar next to the paint tin. click on that and lots of linetypes become available in the options bar. have a look in help for lots of advice on how it works. but to do what you are after - you need to 'see' those elements, to then click on them with the linework tool. to 'see' things, change your view settings, cut plane etc, do the linework and reverse the view settings. or better yet, use the underlay method to place a view over your current view, and then linework away. we as newish users are still having fun with either method, and one is better than the other depending on your needs. eg we sometimes find underlay is best when a floor level is above, and view range better for roof lines. i am sure other more experienced ones in revitcity can give you other options too.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 at 11:08:59 AM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#3

malex


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 10, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


thanx latemore; drawing lines "by hand" is certainly a way to do what I need but I was wondering if there is a way to show automatically something that is there, built above the view plane...if you draw something afterwards there is place for errors, for example if you "forget" to trace one of the elements. I found (in the help menu) "Display of Hidden Lines of Structural Concrete Components" and I think this might do the job...I must play around with it a little, though....

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 at 3:33:22 PM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#4

victorsv


active

Joined: Thu, May 5, 2005
1 Posts
No Rating


The method is using underlays, but you also need to modify the view visibility by doing the following: In the Project Browser select the view in which you need to see the roof or cantilever beams projections. Right click on its name and select the 'Properties' option, it opens the element properties window, in the field 'Visibility' press the button 'Edit...' and in the new window find the 'Roof' (or other entity that is above the current level) and change the line representation by presing the 'Projection' field and selecting the color an line type you want to visualize. Finally you assign the underlay level, selecting the one where the roof you want to see is. Good luck, I know this method can present some disvantges, but try it and you'll see how good it works. Víctor S. V.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Oct 18, 2005 at 5:43:13 PM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#5

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Sun, Mar 27, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


meant to tell you another method that a more experienced user here in brisbane showed us - it is possible to place another view over your view. a bit like the underlay method. this extra view, say roof, or in your case beams, would be a copy of another view but you change its visibility quite a bit, and only have on the element you want. if this was roof, you override its linetype to dashed say, and very importantly make the view 'wire frame' so it is transparent. then drag it onto the sheet over the other view, and it 'locks' in place. this method is not ideal with rooves that are joined elements or a bit messy, but it can be useful as it always updates itself. may be ok with concrete beams though. as mr spot keeps remindings us - many ways to skin a cat!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Oct 20, 2005 at 2:36:06 AM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#6

malex


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 10, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


thanks for your suggestions... I was wondering: is it possible to create a concrete slab family which will, when put in place automatically draw two dashed lines in the floorplans? I noticed that whan using steel construction elements they are represented in the plan view by a line and a number (size...), so maybe it could be possible to do something similar with a concrete slab...any ideas?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 20, 2005 at 4:54:19 PM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Slabs are system families so you couldn't modify it to show two dashed lines. You can change its object style to display as a dashed line however... If this helps?

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Oct 21, 2005 at 5:24:01 AM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#8

malex


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 10, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


I don't really want to change the way the beam is shown (linetype)...I was wondering if it was possible to ad a parameter to the concrete beam family so that when it is put in the model it shows normaly in the ceiling plan (when you look up) but shows as a dashed line in the floorplan (when you look down and it is above you) so that when someone is reading the plans they know that something is above

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 21, 2005 at 4:43:04 PM | RE: objects above - dashed line

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Okay then latemore's suggestion is currently the only way...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dashed line

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 25, 2019 at 8:49:22 AM

2

void behind solid object as dashed line

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 5, 2007 at 8:01:33 AM

3

dashed line for foundation footings?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 9, 2006 at 4:04:06 PM

3

Curved/Arc Grid Line - NOT DASHED

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:22:19 PM

8

Section through floor graphic shows dashed lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 26, 2016 at 9:41:56 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

2003121

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152186

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6432

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights