RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

191 Users Online (72 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> "Moving" a building

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:15:01 AM | "Moving" a building

#16

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Please see my post about referring to google.com for help on how to do things, like copy/paste URLs into a new tab.  The image match site clearly states the site of the original image source.  If you are unfamiliar with the process of using google.com, do not be afraid to ask for help from those knowledgable here on revitcity.com.  You will need to start a new thread, however, in "The Studio" topic forum.

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:25:53 AM | "Moving" a building

#17

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


why should i search where the image came from- i know

where it came from- YOU don't know where it came from..

and you don't know anything about the image.. and guess

what else- you don't know much about revit either.. that's

right and we have all seen your posts over the years and

we have all felt sorry for you.. at least i always did- but

not anymore.. lol

 

--------------------

never start no war in asia!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:52:20 AM | "Moving" a building

#18

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


let the moderator who deleted my original post

to this old thread that no one answered come

forward with a better way- instead of just

going around causing this kind of disruption

at revit city..

 

i stand by my original post as the best

way i believe to move a building..

 

at least try to challenge my way like

goofus did..

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 2:06:05 AM | "Moving" a building

#19

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


hey goofus-

 

i hope you are not calling yourself an architect if

you are not registered.. maybe you can post a

link proving you are a registered architect?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 6:15:36 AM | "Moving" a building

#20

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Chin,

Before you go off saying anything about me. I did nothing to affend you. So for you to say that me being a profesional means nothing your are wrong. It is just like RK said you dont have a job in this field, you dont have a website. and you didnt give a solid answer. For you information I teach Revit at a community college and am a BIM Manager for a large commercial architecture firm.

 

You have been banned from this site before, I know who banned you, and I know why. You think you are helping people but you are not. The answer you gave first off all made no since in a "practical" work enviroment now that i have read it again it made no since at all. Might work good for you college kids who dont know what the term CD means. But for you to come on here and say that I am not a professional and that you can crab those things up all day. Well im proud of you man, because a real "PROFESIONAL" of any sort would not be as immature as you have been on this post as well as many others.

 

You are nothing to this site. you have contrubuted nothing and probably never will.


-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 6:49:47 AM | "Moving" a building

#21

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Allen Ball-

 

i'm just asking you to keep your comments respectful and

act like a professional..


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 7:10:28 AM | "Moving" a building

#22

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Allen Ball-

 

it's highly unlikely you would be able to compete

with me intellectually.. and that goes for revit

and bim applications as well..

 

i've been labeled a revit city legend and i've

been a member of revit city since april 06..

 

the reason i got banned is because i put

dgcad on the spot in public over its new

video sales policy that rips people off..

 

i agree with being banned for that in

so many ways because dgcad is another

revit city legend..


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 7:58:02 AM | "Moving" a building

#23

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


the thing many revit users never seem to understand about

moving a building is that yes the building can be moved

and yes the site can be moved.. (much better to move

the building if you can)..

 

the question of which method is best to use comes

down to the size of the building..

 

in this case the question was about moving

the small building..

 

if it's a large complex building then everything

ELSE- (like the site)- can try to be moved.. 

 

so the best advice for the question on this

thread would be break down this small

building to its basic elements and move

it like that.. (as is still my advice)..

 

but the main point i tried to stress in my

original post was that it's really like virtual

reality where moving buildings is so nearly

out of the question that you must make

sure you start building something in the right

place..

 

but it gets interesting when people expose

their lack of ability to use logic.. they stumble

all over themselves and i get blamed.. lol

but i like it..

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 9:14:33 AM | "Moving" a building

#24

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


if anyone wants to maintain a professional image

for revit city- all they need to do is stop attacking

me and my answers.. the members i'm not so worried

about because i can just ignore them.. but

apparently we have a derelict moderator

who attacks me with ad hominims and

deletes answers i post that are not his style..

even when he has NO answers to post and

the question has been sitting for two or three

days with NOBODY answering it- he don't care..

 

i think the moderators should all act like

a board where they can vote out a

moderator that isn't behaving properly..

 

i have screenshots of this moderator

acting unprofessional and calling me

names..

 

i'm not saying this moderator should

have his moderator status taken

away at this time- i'm just saying he

should wake up and try to act more

professional- and if he don't- then

he SHOULD have his moderator

status taken away..

 

but let's see if he doesn't delete

this before other moderators

can see it.

 

i have made hundreds of posts

since 2006 and never had anything

like this going on..

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 2:25:48 PM | "Moving" a building

#25

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Ok FAT Chin, stop trying to explain youself. No one cares.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 2:52:44 PM | "Moving" a building

#26

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


This man is a Revit City Legend

 

http://screencast.com/t/NjAzMGVkN


-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 5:27:49 PM | "Moving" a building

#27

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


To all Revit users:  I apologize for the above posts from ChinTuFat

 

The person posting here as ChinTuFat,  has been banned twice before under other user names.  I have banned him again for the above sequence of posts.  This person is trying to hijack this form for his own personal grievences against another member.  After his initial posts, this person was asked to take his grievences off RevitCity.  After he continued to post, I deleted all of the personal posts that did not belong here and I banned this individual.  When he returned using a new IP address and user name and reposted all his original posts, I deleted those and banned him again.

 

When he returned this time, we did not intitially ban him again under another ID because he did not violate our rules.  But he has now created yet another ID, Wongwa, and has threaten the website as well as trying to create personal problems with other users.

 

Again, I apologize for these posts.  We will do everything we can to keep this site clear of personal attacks on our members.

 

WWHub



Edited on: Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 12:32:42 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 9:44:47 PM | "Moving" a building

#28

geocox3


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 7, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


I found a solution on my own.  It is unfortunate that no one is likely to read through all of the personal attacks in the previous posts to discover that the solution is unbelievably simple.  I selected a side view of the building showing the gap between the two pieces of building.  I made sure the view was deep enoough to catch the entire wing but not deep enough to catch anything else.  From that view I did a left sweep to grab only the building and not any part of the site, being careful to stop my selection set in the gap.  I then grouped the elements of the building.  I was still not able to slide this group to the left, nor was i able to move the group in plan view.  I was however able to add a copy of the group to the plan, delete the original group and move the new group to the desired location.  The "rooms" did not become a part of the group and so were orphaned when I deleted the original group, but as soon as I exploded the new group, they associated with the relocated walls.  I have not found anything of significance which was not relocated through this process.  I find it amazing that there is not a documented process for this purpose, but this seems to be an acceptable workaround.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 11:57:37 PM | "Moving" a building

#29

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


95% of what you were attempting to move would have been happy to do so.  There was probably just one element in your selection that for reasons unknown couldn't comply. 

 

I find a 3d view in wireframe is the most effective way of selecting everything/deselecting troublesome elements.   Glad copying/pasting worked well.  I would have deslected a few of the most suspicious elements in the selection... checked for gridlines, etc.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 16, 2010 at 5:38:00 AM | "Moving" a building

#30

albertiglesia


active
albertiglesia Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 29, 2009
45 Posts
No Rating


i do not believe that this site turn to a debate site...

 

anyway i also face the same problem in one of my structure and ignoring those debate post between these two guys, their responses are very informative for me

 

please don't get tired of answering question eventhough it seems they dont joining the party, just keep in mind that ALOT of people around the world is just looking around in this site and from time to time they are joining the discussion

 

thanks,


-----------------------------------

"Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work"
 - Aristotle

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 3 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ceiling Plan tags in Linked Model Views "Moving" (2010)

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 at 1:20:58 PM

7

how to rotate building@object in animation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 15, 2010 at 4:45:30 AM

7

changing the "family" and "type" names

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 2, 2007 at 10:33:49 PM

3

Topography "peeking through" shared edges of Building Pads

Community >> Newbies

Sat, Sep 29, 2012 at 10:04:15 AM

1

Lines Length or Moving a Line less than 1/32"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 8:13:23 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1796620

Objects:

22515

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8146

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights