RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

186 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> "Moving" a building

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 9:58:10 PM | "Moving" a building

#1

geocox3


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 7, 2006
4 Posts
No Rating


In a fairly complete model we have eliminated a firewall, leaving only a 1" expansion joint.  I have created a 9" void between the two "buildings" and simply wish to grab teh smaller building in it's entirety and move it 8" clower to the main building.  Using various processes to assure i have grabbed the entire smaller building I keep getting a message that informs me that a selected element can only move in one direction while another can only mover in another and therefore my desired action is not allowed.

 Can anyone suggest how to eliminate those constraints (just unchecking the restrain box doesn't work).

 I could have moved each wall on each floor 8" in the time I have wasted trying to move everything at once.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 7:12:21 PM | "Moving" a building

#2

WongWa



WongWa Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 10, 2010
4 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


geocox3-

 

i know it's hard to believe that revit city is being operated by

adolescences in their mom's basment- but it's true..

and lately several of them have started acting like

children- messing around with certain members

and deleting what they post as a prank..

and yes it's true they have all been playing

with revit for several years but they don't

really have the intelligence to understand

revit- even though yes they can point people

to a lot of stuff we find in the help menu..

but i'm not saying they are totally useless..

 

anyway- what i was telling you about

moving buildings is correct and it's a

good thing to understand about revit..

if you want to move a whole building

you need to take it apart piece by piece

until you get it down to its basic elements

and then try to move those elements.. and

then you can re-attach the families..

same thing i described for you that the children

deleted.. and you notice that the children

were not able to replace what they deleted

with a better and more helpful explanation

of moving buildings in revit for you- and like

i said- they don't really have the intelligence

to understand much about revit.. and they

don't care who gets revit help- and they

really don't care about revit city..

 

but see if they don't delete my explanation

of moving buildings in revit again and not

replace it with anything better..

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 9:45:55 PM | "Moving" a building

#3

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


WongWa please try to keep your comments professional. This site is run, and monitored by alot of smart profesional adults, that work both Architectural and Engineering fields, and are very knowledgeable of the software. We are all here to help each other where we can. So I ask you please be respectful when making comments such as the one you has made on this forum.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:26:28 PM | "Moving" a building

#4

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Speaking of Intellect, let me tell you the correct way to do actually do this instead of spouting of a little theory about how the softwre is supposed to work (which while it sounds good, I wouldn't wish that procedure on my worst enemy, Wong)

Geo, to me it sounds as though your best bet is to make 2 copies of the model.  Leave the original the way you have it so that you have the original.  In one copy, delete everything on one half.  In the other copy delete the other half.  Link the one half of the building into the other.

 Now when it comes to tagging and what not, you're going to have some issues with this method, so head over to revittotd.com and search for "through the linking glass" and take a look at those 2 posts on your options for documenting linked models.

 

In regards to WongWa's post.  I applaud your effort to snuff out the evil in this world that creates poor websites and misinforms the masses on how things are done.  Unfortunately, this is not one of those sites.  I read the post to which you refer, and I read the edited version.  I've read your 4 other posts... 4... none of which lead to any informative wisdom on how to actually accomplish anything the original poster was asking.

 

If it's name calling and forum trolling you are looking for you may as well find one of those poorly made websites that exists just for that purpose.  You'll find nothing but people that have been helped by those that you are bashing in your above post.  You were called out by an admin, you lost.  Get over it and move on; it's a loosing battle for you.

 

Geo, I would highly recommend taking a glance at the linking method above.  Let us know if you have any isues and hit up chat during the week if you have questions about it.  Good luck!


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:30:53 PM | "Moving" a building

#5

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


AllenBall-

 

yes that is the way we would like it to be..

but unfortunately that is not the way it is..

 

i have had several personal attacks by a

moderators at revit city and this is another

example of that.. i posted basically the

same answer for moving a building in

revit and one of those moderators is

very child-like and apparently doesn't

argree with my answer.. but

my answer was and is correct..

 

i only answer revit questions that

no one else can answer..


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:42:52 PM | "Moving" a building

#6

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Wang, define "Answer" because I have not seen an informative post that actually helped anyone from you... ever.

 

Were I you.  I would ask myself: "Why is it that these adolescents are succesful enough to have their own website, architecture firms, and positions in design firms while I am only capable of trolling forums and making fun of them at the same age?"

 You'll find one of two answer.  1) You don't really know much about who you're talking about (or much about what you're talking about period) or 2) You're a slack.  If they are that succesful at the same age, you need to pick up your game kid and you may, just then, be able to have your own website one day where you actually help people.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:46:26 PM | "Moving" a building

#7

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


rkitect-

 

if you don't think my answers lead to any informative

wisdom- then why didn't YOU or SOMEONE answer them?

instead of letting them go by for days because you don't

know how to answer them..

 

 

as for the only difference in YOUR answer- (AFTER you

learned from me or else you would have answered it

the other day)- all you have said different is to make

a copy.. i have always posted telling revit users to

constantly back up their projects to a second drive..

 

and does it really look to you like i "lost" anything? lol

 

this was always good though:

"never get involved in a land war in asia"

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:58:08 PM | "Moving" a building

#8

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


rkitect-

 

the ONLY reason any trolls like you dump ad hominims on

others is pure and simple- because you are UNSUCCESSFUL..

 

 

Joined April, 2006

about 900 posts

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 11:45:03 PM | ChinTuFat

#9

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


 

Quoting ChinTuFat from 2010-09-11 17:46:26

"

rkitect-

 

if you don't think my answers lead to any informative

wisdom- then why didn't YOU or SOMEONE answer them?

instead of letting them go by for days because you don't

know how to answer them..

 

I did, see above post with link to instructional videos; and I do, see my profile.  If you're not sure about how to read posts or click links before reponsding to forum posts, may I recommend a website called google.com.  I know life is difficult when you don't have an F1 to go to, but give it a shot.

 

 

as for the only difference in YOUR answer- (AFTER you

learned from me or else you would have answered it

the other day)-

 

Learning from your post would require there being contect to observe and learn from. As for why I didn't answer the other day, please email my employer and applaude him for having an employee that stays on task throughout the day.

 

all you have said different is to make

a copy..

 

Please re-read my post.  You either are not understanding my response or do not comprehend Revit enough to understand what I am answering (in which case you should stop giving advice about Revit).  Since you seem to be fairly knowledgable that we get our information from the help menu, do us all a favor and read up on linked models in the help menu.  Once you grasp that concept feel free to come back with any questions that you may have about what I'm suggesting.

 

i have always posted telling revit users to

constantly back up their projects to a second drive..

 

I just read all 5 of your posts earlier today.  I never say any mention about backups.  Even if you were telling people to backup their files, this is not what I was informing the OP to do.  See above statement about re-reading my post. Backing up projects to a second drive has nothing to do with moving buildings in Revit, leading me back to your lack of comprehending the OP question, Revit itself, or forum etiquette.

 

and does it really look to you like i "lost" anything? lol

 

At this point I'd say your sanity.

 

 

 

this was always good though:

"never get involved in a land war in asia"

 

Isn't it though?  It's a shame you don't know what the quote is from however.  This goes back to my comment about google.com.  You may want to look up that quote and watch the movie so you have the full context; it's better that way.

 

 

 "

i only answer revit questions that

no one else can answer.."

 

You, and the help menu you mean?

 

 

the ONLY reason any trolls like you dump ad hominims on

others is pure and simple- because you are UNSUCCESSFUL..

 

The only thing I'm unsuccesful at for the time being is undesrtanding your motivation for continuing this foolish game.  Most kids your age take their aggression out in sports or video games.  Are these too complicated for you?

 

 

Joined April, 2006

about 900 posts

 

Oh wow.. I had something to say about this but it took forever for me to stop laughing and I forgot what it was.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 12:18:06 AM | "Moving" a building

#10

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


rkitect-

if you try to link the building back in you

will have all kinds of location problems..

 

the best thing to do is rebuild the building

in the right location..

 

 

--------------------------------------

you fall victim to your own blunders!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 12:27:21 AM | "Moving" a building

#11

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Quoting ChinTuFat from 2010-09-11 19:18:06

"

rkitect-

if you try to link the building back in you

will have all kinds of location problems..

 

the best thing to do is rebuild the building

in the right location..

 

 

 Wong, if you are having problems with linked models, feel free to ask the professionals of Revitcity.com for help.  This method is used by many successful professional that understand the software on a daily basis, without having location problems.  Revit's coordinate system is a complex system but it is conquerable none the less.  There are many resources that go over the coordinate system that was introduced in 2010, google will help you locate these resources.

 

FYI: Image stealing is a reportable offense.  Please be original with your avatars and quotes: http://www.tineye.com/search/6d5c0597d56563ac36144b7c624d230507473416/ 



Edited on: Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 7:43:18 PM

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 12:44:48 AM | "Moving" a building

#12

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Allen Ball-

 

if you are talking about the

Autodesk Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional-

i can grab those by the handfuls..

 

so before you get too carried away thinking you are

a professional and telling others they need to be

professional- you probably should get real first..

 

but thanks for the recommendation..

 

 

---------------------------------------------

never start no land war in asia!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 12:53:51 AM | "Moving" a building

#13

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


rkitect-

 

you go ahead an "conquer" the complex coordinate system

and i'll rebuild the building and let's see who falls victim

to their own blunders first.. fair enough?

 

and what is your point of doing an image search of

my avatar and posting a link to it? do you know where

that image came from? do you know anything about it?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:02:24 AM | "Moving" a building

#14

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Challenge accepted.

 

First task complete, begin conquering the complexities of the revit coordinate system... oh wait, I started doing that over a year ago: http://revittotd.com/06/340 .  Looks like you're already behind Wong.  I'm guessing you haven't finished remodeling Geo's model for him, or even started for that matter.

 

Do I know anything about the image?  Yes, you stole it from another website.  How's that for starters? 

How's the coffee?


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:05:08 AM | "Moving" a building

#15

ChinTuFat



ChinTuFat Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 11, 2010
14 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


what web site did i "steal" it from goofus?

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 3 | 1 | 2 | 3 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ceiling Plan tags in Linked Model Views "Moving" (2010)

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 at 1:20:58 PM

7

how to rotate building@object in animation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 15, 2010 at 4:45:30 AM

7

changing the "family" and "type" names

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 2, 2007 at 10:33:49 PM

3

Topography "peeking through" shared edges of Building Pads

Community >> Newbies

Sat, Sep 29, 2012 at 10:04:15 AM

1

Lines Length or Moving a Line less than 1/32"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 8:13:23 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1365364

Objects:

20265

Forum Posts:

150263

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7993

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights