RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

128 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Viewports - changing defaults

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 1:32:40 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#1

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Viewport defaults to 'Title with line' , I manually change this to 'Title no line' on every view.  I remember a few releases back there was no way to change this default, has this changed?

Also, is it possible to change the size and fonts of the Viewport Title? I've searched in properties of viewport, but not found way of changing anything other than lineweight and colour.

 

Working in Revit Architecture 2011

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 1:36:06 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


The view title is a family. Locate the family in the library and modify it. Then reload it into the drawings.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 2:06:18 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#3

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for the prompt reply.

I've found the file 'View Title w Sheet-Ref Sheet' in the folder ......./Annotations/Architecture - I assume that's correct? I've modified the file and loaded into project - nothing changes. I assume I'm not doing this correctly?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 2:40:11 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#4

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


You will need to apply that family to the view types. Click on a view on a sheet and go to properties-->Edit Type and select the new view title in the pull down called "Title"


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 2:46:12 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#5

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Found the problem, you have to edit type once new family reloaded.  This solves the second question of changing Viewport title fonts, colours, sizes, etc.  However, when importing new drawings to the sheet the default is still with line - anyone know if this can be altered? 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 3:07:28 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#6

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 32 Votes


The View Title (View Title w Sheet-Ref Sheet) and the 'Line' are two separate Type Properties of the Viewport type.
 
 
See image.
 


Attached Images

81857_viewport_title.png

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 17, 2010 at 9:20:15 AM | Viewports - changing defaults

#7

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Mr. dgcad

1.  Many thanks: As a sole practitioner Architect living in the sticks your training videos brought me from the 17th century pens/quills/tee square to 21st in one painful year of very steep learning curve.  Missed out on the whole 2D CAD chore, possible advantage now reading some of the issues people get involved with on this site.

 Thanks again, owe you more than the subscription charged, must be a least a beer or three, (side effect, did end up talking 'abooooot' for a while - not too difficult for a Scot though  : ).

2.  Original question: I think it was in one of your earlier leasons you lamented this default not being able to be altered(?). I tried the box you illustrate ticking earlier, it gets the result I know, but doesn't change the default of the project (underlined title) . Still got to manually change every view on sheets, or is there a clever method? 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 1:44:48 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#8

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Any solutions to this today?

 

 "when importing new drawings to the sheet the default is still with line - anyone know if this can be altered?"


-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 1:59:30 PM | Viewports - changing defaults

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


We have our own title family without the adjustible line - just a fixed length.  So I would suppose you can have one without a line.....


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 2, 2013 at 5:14:36 AM | Viewports - changing defaults

#10

Pavan


active
Pavan Avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2005
157 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


A quick work around is overwrite the values in the type properties of 'Title with Line' with 'No Title' as you have duplicated the 'No Title' from the original. (If you have only one type in the project)

If you have multiple View Title types then follow the procedure:

By default the project has 'Viewport-Viewport1'. This is original and default when you drag views on sheets.

1. You can rename this 'Viewport1' to 'Present'.For example you have 3 types of View Titles say 'ABC', 'XYZ' and 'No title'

2. Duplicate the 'Present' to the above said names. Now you have 4 types.

3. If you want to place 'ABC' titles then in the 'Present' change the 'Title' to 'ABC' and start placing the views.

4. Then again when you want to place 'No title', select the 'Present' viewport and 'Select All' from the type selector change to 'ABC'. All the previous placed Viewports are changed from 'Present' to 'ABC'.

5. Now change the 'Present' Title to 'No title' and start palcing and so on...

Hope this work around helps!!!


-----------------------------------

Pavan Reddy

Revit Manager

Intelligence is not always knowing the answers, it's always asking the questions.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Edit Visibility Graphics in multiple viewports?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 28, 2011 at 7:37:05 PM

1

printer defaults

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 21, 2007 at 7:35:23 PM

1

Revit FBX to 3D Max 2011 causes black or unresponsive viewports

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 13, 2012 at 5:29:51 PM

7

Viewports orginizing on sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 3:45:14 PM

2

Room Plans, Non Rectangular viewports from Revit 2014 and Python Shell

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 7:28:19 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1290031

Objects:

20198

Forum Posts:

150142

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1697

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights