RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

273 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 10:12:38 AM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#1

snowyweston


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
61 Posts
No Rating


I discovered something odd yesterday when reviewing one of the models I principally control on another person's workstation and can't really make sense of it.

Essentially we've our Architecture model, with adjacent architecture models linked in

When I've linked these models I've navigated to them through my desktop shortcut (to their folder location on our network) using a relative link (as our partnering office in Oz have adopted the same folder tree layout) since all's worked well on my machine I've never really looked at the path...

 ...but when the links dropped out for the other person yesterday I had a look, and the path for the models goes "through" my C: placed shortcut (breakingthe link obviously)

 

How can this be avoided? Navigating to paths via network drive shortcuts is a bit tiresome with our server system - but a necessary evil if needs be I guess?



Attached Images

81760_100909Links.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 1:33:52 PM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#2

snowyweston


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
61 Posts
No Rating


No one?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 1:58:28 PM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I don't think you have a choice but to set up the initial link (or re-saved link) using the full network path. 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 4:03:09 PM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#4

dbillings3


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 14, 2009
32 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


 I wonder if your user saved their work while experiencing a lost network connection. This can cause link issues.

I had similar problems with our consultants models. They have a completely different folder tree. I fixed it with Reload from... find the consultants model on my network, and then Save Location.

The only occurence of this problem since then has been when somebody takes the models out of the office to work on them where they lose the relative location for the links, Revit defaults to the local C: location looking for it, and then they check the work back in, only to mangle our link paths. We have learned to control the offsite work/link mangling problem by allowing users to take home a checked out workset that includes full relative paths and links.



Edited on: Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 8:51:40 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 7:21:32 PM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#5

snowyweston


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
61 Posts
No Rating


Cheers for the insight all, from now on I think I'll push to enforce a stricter linking protocol from all - which'll be fun - much.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 1, 2011 at 2:59:15 PM | Network Path & Shortcuts with Relative/Absolute Linked Files (2010)

#6

palladio1234


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 6, 2010
99 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I am having a similar problem.  I have a building model, site model, and builfing model #2 all linked together.  It works fine when just one person wants to see all the links together, but as soon as someone else I am worksharing with re-links the models to their file so they can see what's going on it unlinks them from my file when they save-to-central and I reload. 

 

How do I link everything together and still be able to enable worksharing to spread the work load among other employees without all of the links unlinking when they link the files so they can see the other building on site?


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Export from Revit To CAD with RELATIVE linked files

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Nov 29, 2017 at 5:00:35 PM

0

Topo surface points change from relative to absolute elevations [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 2:33:19 PM

15

Problem with linked Revit files on a network

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Nov 1, 2015 at 9:13:30 AM

1

Abolute Elevation and Topo Points - Revit Architecture 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 10, 2010 at 12:02:25 AM

1

Keyboard Shortcuts Fails to Save or Import

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 27, 2011 at 11:25:50 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1491584

Objects:

21156

Forum Posts:

151137

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8173

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights