RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

363 Users Online (187 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Room name and numbers - Yet another question

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 at 4:37:57 PM | Room name and numbers - Yet another question

#1

heinzk1


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 3, 2009
53 Posts
No Rating


OK I am reading some of the other posts on this subject and I am a little confused on the whole room name / number issue.  I am fairly new to Revit but for some reason I can remember changing a space tag to reflect the name and number of the architecturtal link.

Am I thinking of some other program?

If you are unable to link Revit MEP Space tags to reflect the room names and numbers of the Architectural Revit link, how is everyone keeping up with the changing of room names and number throughout the project life?

 

Just wondering,

KHeinz


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 at 4:56:50 PM | Room name and numbers - Yet another question

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Search the forumjs using "space tags".

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 at 5:01:32 PM | Room name and numbers - Yet another question

#3

Dingo46


active
Dingo46 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jun 2, 2009
46 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


check out the space naming utility at  the Autodesk subscribtion site.  It will pull the information from the Architectural linked model's rooms into your MEP spaces. It works really well.

-----------------------------------

Gary

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 8:37:16 PM | Room name and numbers - Yet another question

#4

heinzk1


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 3, 2009
53 Posts
No Rating


OK I downloaded the file and installed it but it wont link the Space name tags or the room name tags, since I am very green at this, I tried them both.  So I did what was recommended and searched the site for space tags and found that I was correct in that I am supposed to be able to modify the space name tag to reference the room name tag from the architectural link.  I am unable to do so.  The file runs but does nothing and I manually changes the space name tags and still nothing.  I checked the revit link and room bounding is checked.

 

Is there something I am missing?  I even brought in a room number tag from the linked Revit file in hopes that it would help my situation.

 

Could it be missing something in the architectural file?

 Kheinz


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 14, 2010 at 8:10:43 PM | Room name and numbers - Yet another question

#5

Dingo46


active
Dingo46 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jun 2, 2009
46 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


If the Architect does not place rooms/ tags then the utility will not work. If he/ she does not fill out his tags, it won't work either.

In my MEP model, I place spaces. First I make sure the Arch link has "Room  Bounding" selected. After I place spaces, I place Space Tags. Then I pull down the "Add-Ins" tool bar>External Tool>Space Naming Utility and select the appropriate levels and Revit does the rest. In a nutshell, that's my process. I do not "trick" Revit's Space Tag parameter into reading the Arch links room tag info as suggested in other threads. 

Note: I also copy/ monitor the Architects levels and base my levels according to his/ hers.

 

hth

 

 


-----------------------------------

Gary

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room Tag Numbers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 12:22:54 PM

11

Room Numbers in Schedules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 25, 2006 at 9:26:56 PM

5

Schedule will not tracj all room names and numbers [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 30, 2010 at 10:15:35 PM

16

Room numbers automatically updating

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 5, 2011 at 2:37:23 PM

1

Room numbers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 20, 2006 at 9:27:25 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1704812

Objects:

22263

Forum Posts:

151785

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6657

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights