RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

166 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall Sweep Grips

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 8:16:40 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#1

aneglia


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 23, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


I'm modifying profiles for some wall sweeps, and I notice that for some of the sweeps, the grips (the little, filled-in circle you see when you're lengthening or shortening your sweep in elevation view) is about 1"-2" below the actual sweep.  This means that when I tell the sweep (in the properties "Offset From Level" area) that I want it to be 3' from ground level, it moves the sweep so that the grip is at 3'.  Is there any way to tell Revit at what point on the sweep I want to be the basepoint?  I'd like it to be at the top of each profile, so that if I put in 5' for the "Offset From Level" value, the top of the sweep will be 5' from the floor level in elevation.

 Thanks in advance. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 8:22:31 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


I believe the grip point is the insertion point for the profile.  This is set in the profile family.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 8:32:12 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#3

aneglia


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 23, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


I figured it had to do with the creation of the initial profile.  So how do you set this point when you're creating your profile?

 

Thanks 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 8:58:24 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


The answer is self evident.  Starty a new profile family using the hosted template.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 9:30:38 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#5

aneglia


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 23, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the info.

I found the template file you mentioned and put my trim profile into it.  I find is that even though I've placed the top of the profile at the "Insertion Point" (see attachment "Profiles"Winking, when I got to insert the profile into a wall sweep and insert it into an elevation, it chooses the bottom of the profile as the insertion point instead (see "Profiles1"Winking.  What am I doing wrong? 



This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 at 5:28:25 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


I haven't had an opportunity to look at this.  It may be that what you have observed is how Revit does it.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:13:53 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#7

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Aneglia, the grip for your sweep is ALWAYS going to be at the intersction of the X and Y ref planes in the profile family.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 9:49:27 PM | Wall Sweep Grips

#8

aneglia


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 23, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the response.  If the intersection of the X and Y planes is always the grip, or insertion point, then why doesn't my profile work this way (see my attachments in my previous reply).  I've placed the top of my wall sweep profile right at the intersection, but as you can see from accompanying elevation drawing, the grip is show to be at the bottom of the profile instead of the top.  Boggles my mind.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Layer Grips Missing

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Dec 3, 2015 at 2:37:52 AM

6

Wall sweep won't trim

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 25, 2017 at 7:07:17 PM

5

Repeatig wall sweep vs. repeating detail - wall attached [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 7, 2008 at 9:51:44 PM

19

Wall sweeps VS Generic Models

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, May 22, 2011 at 3:14:19 AM

6

How to Load a Wall sweep type

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 5:42:29 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1289937

Objects:

20198

Forum Posts:

150140

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 10.1370

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights