RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

61 Users Online (60 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Saving

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 9:21:58 AM | Saving

#1

tsg870


active

Joined: Wed, May 19, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Anyone know why I can only Save as a Template and not as a File??? What's the difference? 

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 10:04:18 AM | Saving

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


Because you are saving in RTE and not in RVT, check this: http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=3448

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 10:06:20 AM | Saving

#3

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Because you opened a template file.

If you want to use a template for a project, you need to tell Revit to open it as a project. If you open a template, you can only save as a tempate file and you lose some application abilities like worksharing.

 

Search the help for Creating a Project Using a Template

 


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 12:51:50 PM | Saving

#4

tsg870


active

Joined: Wed, May 19, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. 

 So if I have an .rte file, I can't save it as .rvt?? Do I have to start over?  


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 1:00:33 PM | Saving

#5

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


No,

Save everything you have done so far as an rte file. Then, under the applications menu pick on New > Project.

Then, just browse to the rte file you just saved and then tell it to open as a project.

See the attached image



Attached Images

81560_ProjectTemplate.jpg

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 3, 2010 at 1:07:48 PM | Saving

#6

tsg870


active

Joined: Wed, May 19, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Ohh, got it. Thank you, thank you!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

local file saving location [ 1 2 3 ]

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 8:03:09 AM

38

saving in previous releases

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 11, 2006 at 3:44:32 PM

3

Saving to Central

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 9:42:05 PM

2

Saving detail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 8, 2007 at 10:47:10 AM

2

Saving New Textures

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 1, 2005 at 6:39:32 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2010875

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152200

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8317

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights