RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (139 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> AutoCAD For Mac

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 2:48:08 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#1

GBAT


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 27, 2010
10 Posts
No Rating


Those of us using any of the various Revit Suites also have licenses of AutoCAD laying around, and if you fancy a macintosh computer, you may find this interesting.  Many of you know that AutoCAD for Mac is now official. We've gotten some communications from Autodesk regarding release dates and MSRP for AutoCAD for Mac.  The only data available is that it will release this fall and the MSRP will be the same as the PC version - around $3995. Autodesk WILL, however, allow current PC users to switch over to the mac version for a nominal fee.  It will be interesting to see what percentage of users do decide to switch, as AutoCAD's exclusivity has been a thorn in many users' sides since the last version in 1992 (R12).

-----------------------------------

Greg Bates

ManagedDesignInc

www.ManagedDesignInc.com

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:05:31 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Keep in mind that the REVIT / AutoCAD Suite licenses only one computer. You cannot run REVIT on one computer and AutoCAD on a different computer. They both have to be installed on the same computer.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:12:58 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#3

GBAT


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 27, 2010
10 Posts
No Rating


Correct. Just making the connection between the Revit forum and a post regarding AutoCAD. 

 

Is there anyone out there who is excited about the new platform?  It would be interesting to hear some comments from folks who plan to switch.


-----------------------------------

Greg Bates

ManagedDesignInc

www.ManagedDesignInc.com

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:18:30 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


unless there is going be some big change in the use of pc vs mac's in the aec industry. i would like to see Autodesk put that developement money into Revit. But all disciplines use Autocad so there may be larger market for it than in the past. But i remember that last Autocad for Mac.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:22:59 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Autodesk may even steal away a few archicad seats if they move back into the mac market.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:44:14 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#6

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


anything to put another nail in that coffin i am for.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 6:38:39 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#7

Homeytheclown


active
Homeytheclown Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 4, 2009
21 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


When is Revit coming to Macland?

-----------------------------------

Homey don't play that.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 6:42:37 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#8

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


The CEO of Autodesk eluded at AU last November that 'some' autodesk products 'may' be in development for the Mac.
I'd be all over it myself.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 6:54:30 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#9

GBAT


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 27, 2010
10 Posts
No Rating


Currently there is no official release from Autodesk regarding a native Revit application for the Macintosh platform.  Currently the only way to run Revit on a Mac is to use Parallels or Bootcamp to run Windows on the Mac hardware.  This is officially supported by Autodesk at this point, so if you're on subscription you should be able to get technical help if you're running the software in this manner. 

Since they've actually rewritten AutoCAD for the Mac (as opposed to trying to port the existing code over), one would imagine that they would do the same for Revit.  This is a time and labor intensive process, so I doubt we'll be seeing Revit for the Mac soon.  If sales for AutoCAD on the Mac are strong I would imagine we'll start hearing more about AEC specific solutions being converted.


-----------------------------------

Greg Bates

ManagedDesignInc

www.ManagedDesignInc.com

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 7, 2010 at 7:10:08 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#10

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I tend to agree.
Let's use the development resources and time to better the product rather than port the OS.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Sep 18, 2010 at 2:11:36 PM | AutoCAD For Mac

#11

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


the REVIT / AutoCAD Suite and its one license needed to

run it on one computer can easily be moved to a different

computer at no cost..  you can download that license anytime

at no cost and put the programs back on a new computer or

the same computer with a new hard drive or OS or whatever..

 

autodesk is not in the business of trying to control anyone's

computer life..

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

.rfa fil convert mac

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2020 at 3:43:40 PM

0

System mac

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 14, 2007 at 3:21:35 PM

5

Anyone using Revit 2008 on an Intel MAC Computer?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 5, 2020 at 4:16:26 PM

1

Revit 2009 on Mac, How to select multiple items

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 13, 2010 at 4:48:42 PM

7

MAC BOOK PRO Retina & REVIT

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 1:12:17 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1610502

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.4140

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights