RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

390 Users Online (211 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Roof layers not alligned

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 8:56:04 AM | Roof layers not alligned

#1

Majlo


active
Majlo Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


Hi all!

I have a slight problem with my roof. It's a concrete roof with thermal and other layers above ... As I'm working on concrete plans, I need to show only the concrete part of the roof. But if I copy the roof with all layers and then change it's structure to only bottom concrete, the bottom face of roof moves up. I've tried the same thing with a simple rectangular roof with only two slopes and that didn't happen. Now, I wonder if this is because of the strange angles of my roof or did I miss something?

On bottom picture you can see my problem. You can also look at my rvt file.

I hope that it can be done the way i want Winking

Thanks and greetings from Slovenia!

 

Milos



Attached Images

81339_revitcityhelp.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 9:13:24 AM | Roof layers not alligned

#2

Majlo


active
Majlo Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


OK, the revit file didn't go through... so you can save and look it from this link: http://www.bim.si/revitcity/roof_help_revitcity.rvt

(or manually from here: http://www.bim.si/revitcity/ )


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:01:31 PM | Roof layers not alligned

#3

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


This is one very bizarre roof my friend is this a pretend building or a real project?

 

I've never seen a roof formed by sculpting the perimeter by using a roof opening around the outside. Very creative I have to say but WOW where did you learn how to do that? 

Not sure if this will help but I noticed the 'roof with all layers' has both layers in the core and both are structure [1]. That's a no no. I would move the top layer out of the core and make it substrate [2].

 

Other than that you can just lower one of the roofs by playing with the 'Base offset from level' property of the roof.

 

And yes, my guess is the roofs are at different heights because of the way the roofs are created.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 6:26:39 PM | Roof layers not alligned

#4

Majlo


active
Majlo Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


dgcad, yes I know it's a strange roof - tell it to the architect Smile hehe... I did the cut because I'm interested only in concrete, otherwise the roof extends outside wall bounderies... but like I said, I'm working on the concrete plans, and the concrete plate of the roof goes just to the outside wall bounderies...

I've tried the trick (well it's not really a trick, as it should be done that way...but) with moving the other layer outside the core, but it's still not working. It's interesting that in some places (or some slopes) do match, when I change only to the concrete roof, but on other places roof moves... really strange... And yes, I also think that there is no other way, because of the "crazy" roof layout...

Just life, right! Smile

Cheers 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 6:38:46 PM | Roof layers not alligned

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I see.
Well that method of using an opening to shave off the outside edges of a roof may even come in handi some day !

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 6:59:55 PM | Roof layers not alligned

#6

Majlo


active
Majlo Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


This is why I like revitcity - you come with a question and you give a good tip as well to somebody... Winking

 best regards, Milos


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 7:07:38 PM | Roof layers not alligned

#7

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Ya, the AUGI site is good for information too but that site has it's own agenda. . . . . bunch of pencil necks : )

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Adding windows that are alligned to a sloped roof

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 31, 2012 at 1:54:52 PM

1

Roof not showing all layers of sructure in some sections

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 6:25:04 AM

11

How do you control the display of wall layers in the Roof Plan?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 20, 2012 at 3:51:46 PM

3

Line weights to roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 6, 2005 at 2:30:49 AM

5

Any way to tag all of the layers of a wall/roof with a single tag?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 9, 2013 at 9:22:50 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1510970

Objects:

21242

Forum Posts:

151236

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3549

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights