RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

194 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 3:27:59 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#1

JsBach


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 1, 2009
16 Posts
No Rating


 I have been learning Revit using the Autodesk assistance program. I recently started getting an unrecoverable error message at the startup screen. After researching I found the common solution to this fix was to delete the WSCCommCntrData and UIState files as directed. However, once I did this I am stuck in demo mode so can't save anything. How do I get back the student version?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 4:03:52 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


Hmmm, don't know about WSCCommCntrData but I believe deleting the UIState file(s) just resets the ribbon and quick access toolbar back to the original installed configuration.
A re-install is probably worth a try.
The 'student version' of autodesk products have their own behaviour. Maybe contact the people you got the software from?
In Canada there are only two Educational Resellers and the US probably have 3-4.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 4:29:51 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


did you try re-resgistering the software?

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 4:13:15 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#4

JsBach


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 1, 2009
16 Posts
No Rating


I was able to fix this finally. The first thing I had done before deleting the files listed was to reinstall the program. After I deleted the files was when I posted this. So after deleting the files and then reinstalling, the program works again.

 As a warning, I also tried reinstalling the older 2010 version and just as it was finishing, I got a blue screen crash and was not able to start up my computer except in safe mode. Luckily I had a restore point that worked, I had done a couple of restores when trying to figure out why Revit wasn't working. This wasn't a one time deal either, I tried installing the 2010 version again and another blue screen crash. Very scary, Autodesk should look into what in their download program is causing a system crash.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 10:36:04 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#5

BCMArch



BCMArch Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
5 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


JsBach-

 

here's a little secret- (big secret actually)- and never have that

kind of problem again..

 

1. get windows 7 if you don't already have it.. because window 7

will nearly automatically reinstall itself..

 

2. get the utility program for your system C: hard drive- and zero fill that drive..

 

3. pop in the win 7 disk- type in the product code- come back in 15 minutes..

 

4. install revit..

 

5. be the happiest revit user at revit city..

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 11:42:24 PM | Reverted to demo version after fixing error problem 2011

#6

BCMArch



BCMArch Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
5 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


JsBach-

 

hopfully you don't say- like many revit users say:

"oh i can't do that no matter how easy or how

perfect it solves my problems because i would

lose all my work and all my projects"

 

just get out of the bad habit of saving your

work to your C: drive and into the good

habit of saving your work to an external

drive.. and always back-up that first

external drive to a second external drive

in case one of them fail..

 

imagine there's no crashes

it isn't hard to do

nothing to waste time for

and no blue screens too

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Error message installig off-line revit 8.0 demo version

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 3, 2005 at 3:26:00 AM

1

Revit/Globe Link 2011 "Aquiring"

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 19, 2011 at 6:20:05 PM

6

Error when inserting views from a Revit file (version 2011).

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 29, 2010 at 7:22:24 PM

5

Lost Work (model has reverted back)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 1, 2014 at 7:38:26 PM

2

Copying tags from an older version of a project.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 at 7:17:47 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1839661

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152038

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8415

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights