RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

255 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Composite wall Attachment

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 3:01:42 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#1

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Using Revit 2011.So I have a MTL Building wall section.  Metal Panel on the out, liner panel on the interior.  Is there a way to attached the exterior finish to the roof but not the interior finish?  Say if I want the interior finish to stop at 8' AFF.  I can use the modify, but that requires me to "Detach all" which is fine, but on a Rake condition it jacks up the exterior elevations.Would using a profile wall sweep for the interior the best solution here?Thanks for your help?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 3:08:01 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


You can unlock the inner layer in the wall definition and set its height independent of the wall in a section view.

 

In your HELP:> Accessing Vertically Compound Wall Tools  



Edited on: Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 10:11:07 AM

Attached Images

80611_ScreenHunter01_Aug._16_11.10.gif

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 3:22:17 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#3

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


That is what I was doing, (See section image attached) but you can not modify that ht. unless you "Detach" the wall from the roof.  Doing this produced the result I want on the wall section but not on the building elevation. See the results in the attached "elevation" image.

 Thanks



Attached Images

80614_Section.jpg80614_Elevation.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 3:32:21 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


It seems that you are correct.  If you attach the wall to the roof, the layer will not be editable.  However, you can edit the layer and edit the wall profile to meet the underside of the roof.  That does work.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 3:44:12 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#5

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Yeah that is what I had also thought of, but thought it would really be handy if I could just attach separate wall components.  Like I mentioned, this is really only an issue at endwall / Rake conditions so I guess for now I will just modify the wall boundary in elevation instead of using Attach. Thanks,

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 8:33:28 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#6

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


After further review, the editing the profile of the wall in elevation does not work either.  This forces all wall elements to this new profile, which gets me back to the same problem.  For now an interior wall sweep is the only way around this issue that I have found.

 Thanks,


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 8:47:35 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 355 Votes


I tested this and it worked for me.  I pulled the inner layer down from the overall heigth of the wall then edited the profile above that line.  You may not be able to edit the profile first.

 

A second solution is to have two walls.  One with everything except the ineer layer and the other being a tin wall of only the inner layer.  You can then join these two walls in plan and all doors/windows hosted by one wall will cut the other.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 16, 2010 at 9:00:26 PM | Composite wall Attachment

#8

cadman7577


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 20, 2009
35 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Using Revit 2011 it does not work.  If you adjust the interior of wall in your section then adjust the profile of the wall it pulls all wall components together.  Unless I'm not clicking something or loosing my mind it does not work.  Appreciate your time on this WWHub.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

composite panel walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 25, 2011 at 7:32:37 PM

6

changing line thickness in composite walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 25, 2009 at 12:11:09 PM

2

Composite facade cladding (FRP FACADE FOR RAK GATEWAY)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 1:47:52 PM

8

composite column

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 16, 2006 at 6:53:30 AM

2

Making a Composite Mechanical Roof plan

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 27, 2010 at 9:33:50 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1463190

Objects:

20996

Forum Posts:

150943

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.5417

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights