RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

125 Users Online (123 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 4:21:52 PM | revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

#1

amandaholly


active

Joined: Sun, Sep 21, 2008
31 Posts
No Rating


Hi,  I have a revit model I want to match up with an existing site plan in real world coordintates.  Even with the 20 mile radius update in 2011 I cannot inset the cadd plan by origin to origin so instead I have tried to center to center.  I tried manually changing the revit model to match the cadd plan by using specify coordinates at a point.  Even thouh the points read correctly in revit when I export by either project or shared coordinates they do not match.  Does anyone have an idea fro a fix in the or are people just S.O.L. if their project happens to be far enough from the origin and they want to match up civil and architectural?

Thanks in advance - any advice is much appricated!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 12, 2010 at 5:22:13 AM | revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


"Even with the 20 mile radius update in 2011 I cannot inset the cadd plan by origin to origin so instead I have tried to center to center" - Try this, open your CAD file, then create a "Wblock" only with what you need then insert that "Wblock" into Revit...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 19, 2010 at 5:27:19 PM | revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

#3

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


If you want to match the coordinate system from CAD to your Revit model, you will want to learn about shared coordinates and get comfortable with the idea and concept.

As for the process of aligning the two files, it is really quite simple and the one part I really would emphasize here would be to use a base file and not the actual civil file.

By this I mean start a blank CAD drawing...clean of everything. Xref the site file into the blank file at 0,0,0.

Then, link that base file into Revit...I typically use center to center.

This will not only get you around the 20 mile limit, but will help avoid passing any coordinate changes back to the civil file.

Revit will actually reference the coordinates from the xref so you should be fine.

The attached images show the reported coordinates from one of our projects and as you can see...the E/W coordinates are about 2,247 miles and the N/S are about 1,315 miles...well beyond the Revit restriction.

 

But one more time...get comfortable with shared coordinates.

 

HTH



Attached Images

80791_Coordinates.jpg

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 5:50:21 AM | revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

#4

tecnicheparametriche


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 14, 2009
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advice!

I tried the XREF option, but can't see the file. It says it might be not visible for some reason... but it does import.Can't make it show! Any ideas? tried either manual or automatic (center) ... never shown.The not referenced file actually imports fine center to centerbut if I acquire coordinates the surey point moves only at the center of the drawing(like it it was imported center to center). probably because of the 20 miles limit.My drawing is actually located approx.

2.459.866 meters East4.523.624 meters WestMy solution -for now- was to draw a line in ACAD,round the coordinates of the points ...sign them,then import center to center the nox-xref plan andassign manually the coordinates to the point.I got a rounding error, probably because project is .00 in meterswhile ACAD was .0000.The weird thing is that coordinates can be specified with .0000when I am prompted. But then spot coordinate tags only show .00

...we tried importing back the dwg plan exported  from revitinto acad and the tolerance doesn't seem to matter(yeah...seems. how can I test that?)

thanks in advance for any help,I hope this can help somebody as well

Stefano 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 8:21:20 AM | revit 2011 Coordinate points issue

#5

amandaholly


active

Joined: Sun, Sep 21, 2008
31 Posts
No Rating


Thanks guys, 

I did fix it with shared coordinates. 

 

I had to insert the survey file center to center, specify a coordinate within revit and then let that file drive the rest (all my other revit links). 

Seems to work well. 

 Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Scheduling Coordinate Points for Complex Geometry

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 21, 2011 at 10:46:22 AM

2

Revit 2016 - issue with editing Toposurface Points

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 21, 2017 at 10:30:30 AM

2

3D Curve Tube

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 31, 2011 at 3:02:26 PM

1

Family with coordinate parameter? - Revit 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 3:45:58 AM

11

Toposurface glitch?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 18, 2013 at 9:28:10 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

2004653

Objects:

22897

Forum Posts:

152180

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.2586

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights