RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (174 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 10, 2010 at 5:42:36 PM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#1

archimator


active
archimator Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 14, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


I am having a bit of a problem with a model I'm bringing in from 3DS max.  After I get the model into conceptual mass space, I notice the geometry has all become triangulated (I know max if fond of triangles).

Later, when I bring the mass into project space to apply walls to the faces, I am only able to use the triangles as the faces.  Is there any simple way to make these faces four sided (so the walls I later apply will be rectangles)? 

 

I made a quick example image of my problem (the actual mesh is very complicated and hard to look at on the screen)



Attached Images

80398_dwgtriangles.gif

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 11:55:20 AM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#2

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 13 Votes


basic geometry 3 points define a plan four do not necessarily define a plane they must be co-planar and if not then the surface must be warped which is more complicated but not impossible.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 3:03:26 PM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#3

archimator


active
archimator Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 14, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


The situation in the given scenario does have planes set by 4 points.  Each of the individual objects in has two triangular planes that are aligned on the X and Y axis, thus making a 4-sided polygon (with an edge down the middle).

 

Ultimately, I need to apply walls to the faces and these walls need to be defined 4 points and not 3.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 3:50:07 PM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#4

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 13, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


next time model it on revit... use max for rendering (stills or videos) only. The geometry you want to make (im guessing) is possible with conceptual mass and adaptive component. And as mbsteve says, sometimes you just can`t rid of triangles. By example, in a hexagonal panel, you must add some pentagonal to achieve those curve shapes.

 like this one http://inhabitat.com/wp-content/uploads/ptwwatercube.jpg

 You can get more info seeking watercube+algorithm

And a link that you must see http://buildz.blogspot.com/



Edited on: Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 3:55:10 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 12, 2010 at 2:48:49 AM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#5

xzavoral


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
56 Posts
No Rating


This is basic problem of importing since some formats dont cooperate with others. Than the importing must go through some changes and since 3 points define it, the process mostly takes this way to solve importing.

Modeling in 3Ds MAX is suppposed for rendering or animation, soif you want to draw some shapes for modeling BIM, you should do that in software that is meant for it, like Revit / AutoCAD / Sketchup and so on...


This user is offline

 

Sat, Aug 14, 2010 at 12:18:19 AM | DWG triangles to 4 sided polygons

#6

archimator


active
archimator Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 14, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


The model was given to me by another source.  It was originally modeled in Maya (which I don't have), so I used Max as a way to translate the mesh and clean up the geometry (some points were a bit off).

I haven't tried to take the mesh over to CAD yet, however... maybe I can clean it up some there and get thing working properly.

I had just hoped there was a way I could do it inside Revit so there would be less movement of the geometry.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Does Revit Render to 2D Vector?

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Fri, Dec 13, 2013 at 6:52:44 PM

0

Revit 2018.2 Print to PDF Turning Curves into Polygons

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 17, 2018 at 12:30:39 AM

4

Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 6:39:39 PM

5

double sided lift

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 6, 2012 at 6:46:18 AM

1

Color scheme prints random triangles

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 11, 2010 at 1:14:56 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1985364

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152178

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3244

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights