RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

195 Users Online (61 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Visibility elements in a room tag

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 2:47:29 PM | Visibility elements in a room tag

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

I'm trying to create a new room tag with the option to turn off the room finish info via a tick box in properties.

I've create the tag, created the finishes lable, clicked on the equals sign for visibility in properties and Clicked add parameter and chosen an instance parameter of type Yes/No.

This works when I test it on a door family (i.e. to turn off an object in a door), but when I try it on a room tag family the option does not appear in properties.

Any ideas why??

Cheers.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 2:54:22 PM | Visibility elements in a room tag

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Why not just use two different tags?  One for views where you want the finish information and one where you don't?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 7:35:52 PM | Visibility elements in a room tag

#3

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I thought of doing this, but it seemed neater to make it a tick box in properties.

Also, I'm going to create another tag which shows 6 items of room data, each of which I want to turn off - if I create a separate tag for each that would mean creating 36 tags.

 

Am I wrong? Can you not set up a instance visibility parameter for a tag??? 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 7:47:41 PM | Visibility elements in a room tag

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


You can not do what you want.  Tags really don't have properties - rooms do.  Much easier to do it by tag types.....

 

Example - In a view you have rooms tagged with normal tags... room and room number.  Now copy these to clipboard and paste same place in another view... and change all of these tags to tags with finishes - done. 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 9, 2010 at 7:58:33 PM | Visibility elements in a room tag

#5

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


ok. Thanks.

 

It seems strange, that in any other family, you can just click on an element and hook its visibility up to an instance parameter - but not with tags... 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Visibility Parameter in Room Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 4, 2010 at 11:01:09 PM

6

Room Tag is lost visibility is on

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 20, 2012 at 1:04:09 PM

4

Room tag not showing in only one room.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Oct 1, 2021 at 4:04:59 PM

7

HELP!!! Problems with Room Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 1:17:38 PM

3

Room Data Sheet (inc furniture and doors) using a Room Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 20, 2012 at 3:47:21 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1668416

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4948

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights