RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

51 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 29, 2010 at 11:06:22 AM | The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

#1

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


We have used the copy / monitor process with both structural and MEP consultants on several projects now.  We are by no means experts but we have made some discoveries that we will share.  I hope others will add to this too!

 

We let structural own structural masonry and concrete walls which we then CM'd so that we could add openings.  There was no really good way of knowing how this process was working just by talking to our engineers so we ran a few tests.  Here is something that we discovered.

  1. When we modify a CM'd wall by placing an opening, a door or a window in it, the opening is reported in the structural model's coordination review.  Very good - what we wanted.  His only option appears to be do nothing and the opening is added to his wall.  When his model link is then upgraded in our model,  we get a coordination issue that an opening has been added to the wall we are monitoring.  Our choice then needs to be that we ignore it.
  2. If we move the door / window or change the opening size then LOOK OUT!  In the structural model the change is made but there is NO NOTIFICATION.
  3. Here is another issue.  Curtain walls that are set to embed do not show up at all in the structural model.  No opening is cut. 
  4. We also modified the wall profile sketch of CM'd walls and this worked like openings.
Please add your own discoveries to this.

Edited on: Fri, Jul 30, 2010 at 8:05:01 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 29, 2010 at 12:31:17 PM | The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

#2

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Excellent thread Hub!!

 

I would like to add an interesting issue that I posted about previous (see link below) in regards to copy/monitored openings from doors.

If you work in RST and copy/monitor a wall w/ doors, you will get the openings and even get coordination alerts when they move in the RAC model.

The problem lies in how Revit generates the opening.

Revit generates the copied opening using the wall opening command insead of using the door command...which in a way makes complete sense however, it will affect your wall footings.

This issue then lies in your wall footings and breaking at openings even if they are told not to.

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=15495


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 29, 2010 at 12:32:25 PM | The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

#3

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I should add that I have tested this in Revit 2011 and it still behaves the same.

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 30, 2010 at 8:09:19 AM | The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Thanks brett. 

We were only testing the CM process using it in arch.  You said you "...get coordination alerts when they move in the RAC model."  We did not see that in our test in all arch.  Does a opening size change also report because we did not see that? 

Come on folks - what is happening with you?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 30, 2010 at 9:33:43 AM | The Copy Monitor Process ... We have discovered ... What have you ?

#5

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Hey Hub,

 

We do get a notification of opening size changes as well as position/location in RST. (See attached image)

We also get coordination alerts vice versa in RAC for the openings...not sure why that would not work, not saying I don't believe you, just curious why it wouldn't alert you to those changes.

If I get sometime I'll put a video together showing the alerts in RAC when changes are made in RST.



Attached Images

79855_untitled.JPG

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Copy/Monitor walls

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 10:14:23 AM

2

i connot copy the wall on my COPY-MONITOR tools

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 11:51:16 AM

2

Copy Original Type Not Available in Copy Monitor Options Dialogue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 6, 2015 at 2:16:27 PM

1

Copy Monitor Grids

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 3, 2015 at 8:20:16 AM

5

Can't Get Copy Monitor to Work for Grids and Levels

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 4:55:28 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

2010866

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152200

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3550

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights