RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

244 Users Online (103 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Advice on creating a site plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 3:18:33 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

For our site plan, in AutoCAD we draw the whole thing out (road, paths, grass areas, gravel etc etc). And then put lots of nice hatches over them to create a good looking coloured site plan.

The client likes these.

So how to you achieve this with Revit (I'm a little new to this).

Could I create a toposurface for my site and then colour it up somewho?? Is there a better way?

I would appriciate any advice or tutorial.

 

Cheers.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 10:46:27 AM | Advice on creating a site plan

#2

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Anyone? - I'm sure there has got to be a better way of doing this in Revit??

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 11:08:34 AM | Advice on creating a site plan

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


"And then put lots of nice hatches over them to create a good looking coloured site plan."

You can't apply surface pattern to your site BUT you have the "Filled Region" to solve your problem, check your HELP menu to see how to use it....

Also, check this: http://www.eaglepoint.com/solutions/workflow/office/landscape/landcaddforrevit.asp

 



Edited on: Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 6:50:44 AM

Attached Images

79121_topo.png79121_topo2.png79121_filled.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 8:29:51 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#4

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks - I'll give that a try.

Edited on: Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 3:31:52 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 7:16:00 AM | Advice on creating a site plan

#5

mcantwell


active
mcantwell Avatar

Joined: Thu, Aug 24, 2006
86 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


You can go some way using floors, ramps and / or pads. These take surface patterns.

Subregions will split the topo and that can be used to snap to for filled regions. 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 5:37:01 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#6

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I divised this, see attached, technique for creating street work it is admittedly a little clumsy but it gives a fairly good result.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 8:36:34 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#7

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for your advice chaps.

 

It does not look like I'll be able to achieve in Revit the 'good looking' site plan with hatches (especially gradient hatches) that I can in AutoCAD.

Unless there is something else I can do, I may use AutoCAD for the site plan and Revit for the building... 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 8:49:38 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#8

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


If you are are talking 2D revit can do most anything possible in AutoCAD

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 10:04:03 PM | Advice on creating a site plan

#9

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Use walls and 'edit profile' for curbs and retaining walls. Create a temporary section near by if need be. You can also use an 'in-place family' to create other site objects that don't come with REVIT. Such as a 'sweep' to create a sloping curved curb or retaining wall.

 

You can also use annotative 'filled regions' to create site hatching. Don't fall back on your AutoCAD. Do it ALL in REVIT !!



Edited on: Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 5:14:45 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Creating a Site

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 10, 2010 at 11:19:21 PM

14

site plan disappears intermittently

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 17, 2017 at 2:21:12 AM

5

Walls from multiple floors above showing in site plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 4, 2012 at 2:23:52 AM

4

creating a view from a specified area of a site plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 12, 2012 at 4:31:35 PM

1

Problem with Reigion Hatching on Site Plan [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 25, 2014 at 10:19:15 PM

26

Site Stats

Members:

1606050

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0389

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights