RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (100 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 8:54:50 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#1

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I just spent some serious time creating parametes for the office. They were laid out in a very organized manner.

I went to test them inside a project and the parameters in the element properties were located in a different "group parameter under" category.

For instance, I have a Hardware Set parameter that is placed under the Text group in my door family.  I loaded it into the project and it is now under the Identity Data group.

 What did I do wrong?

Sorry if this is a repeat post but I could not find what information I needed quickly from the forum search.

Thanks


-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 9:35:45 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


I think you are mixing up two concepts.  When you create a parameter you define the data type [text, area, length etc], and how you want the parameter grouped in the user properties dialog box [dimensions, identity data, materials etc.]

Check your work and make sure you are clear on the difference between the two. 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 10:01:00 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#3

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I see where you are coming from, and I just checked and I do have it planned out correctly.

In the example of the Hardware Set, I have the Type of Parameter as Text and I wanted it Grouped under the Text Group. However, it comes in as a text type (i can add the text information to it as I need) but it comes Grouped under the Identity Data.

This holds true to some but now all of the other parameters of the same Type of Parameter and grouped in the same Text group.

Any additional thoughts?


-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 11:00:15 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Try loading the family into a completely new test project and see what happens.

Did you have the same parameter loaded into your project before and change the grouping?  Are other families using this parameter but an older definition? 

Lot of interesting things can happen when working with parameters.  That is why I advise people to plan them very carefully.  As someone who also works with databases, I take great care in structuring fields in a database which are the same as parameters in Revit. It might take weeks and in some cases months to plan out the data structure properly.  I don't generally see the same level of care taken with Revit which is a database.  Just my words of advice.


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 11:32:01 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#5

daleyy


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 1, 2004
49 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


yes it does work in a brand new file.  However, the file I am inserting them into was created based on the new file I tried.  I am trying to make a template and the template file was created from the brand new file.

 I guess you are correct when you say things need to be done very carefully.  I must have flipped a step and that is why these things are having problems.

 Any thoughts on a resolution in getting them to show up correctly in the current state that this template is in or do I just have to start a new template file all together?

 Thanks for the assistance.



Edited on: Thu, Jul 8, 2010 at 6:37:00 PM

-----------------------------------

DaleW

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2021 at 7:31:42 AM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#6

eveline


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 11, 2006
29 Posts
No Rating


Did you find a solution for this problem yet? I experience the same problem.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2021 at 8:16:03 PM | "group parameter under" changed upon loading into project

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Did you read the last two posts?  The answer is there but you may not like it.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

"Group parameter under:"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 22, 2018 at 3:42:28 PM

11

"Profile sketch is empty!" WHILST TRYING TO DELETE A MODEL GROUP

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 9:58:53 PM

6

How to make a "Model in-place" a "Family"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 10:07:59 PM

5

Change Change Parameter "Group Under" Category

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 21, 2016 at 7:04:10 PM

2

Editing the "Group Under" list for parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 12, 2006 at 8:45:54 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1652608

Objects:

22106

Forum Posts:

151696

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3187

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights