RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> reference plane depth/height

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 3:25:04 PM | reference plane depth/height

#1

johnsonsara


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


I drew reference planes on my first floor plan.  They do not show up on my foundation plan where I would also like to see them.  From elevation views I can see that they appear only from first floor up.  Is there a setting somewhere to change the elevation range at which all the reference planes are visible?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 3:29:08 PM | reference plane depth/height

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Reference planes are infinite elements.  They have no logical top or bottom but go to infinity.  They will display a pysical representation of top and bottom in a view, but the 'ends' are not true enpoints rather simply the end of the physical manifistation of the reference plane.

If they do not show up on your foundation plan, make sure they are on the VG of the view as they can be turned off.  Also make sure you are using reference planes and not reference lines as the two elements are completely different from each other. 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 5:26:30 PM | reference plane depth/height

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


That's not quite true. Refplanes have 3D extents just like grids. If your refplanes don't go through the view range, they don't show up. Go to a section or elevation that cuts through the refplane, and you can adjust the extents. Make sure you drag the 3D extents, not the 2D.

 

Tom, maybe you're thinking of work planes?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 6:02:13 PM | reference plane depth/height

#4

johnsonsara


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your help.  How come the 3d extents are only at the top of the line and 2d at the bottom?  I want to drag the reference plane down, but can only select the 2d to do so.  If I take the 3d at the top and drag it down, the line then starts from my first floor and only goes below that.  How do I get the 3d to extend in both directions, up and down? Is there a way to grab all reference planes at once and drag them?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 7:10:03 PM | reference plane depth/height

#5

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Turn off the view crop to see if you can find the lower 3D extent (it's there somewhere, even if you can't see it). It might already be low enough that it's not on the screen when you select it. If it is already that low, it's probably inside the foundation view range, in which case it's probably a VG issue like Tom mentioned. Try making a new refplane from the foundation plan. If you can see it, it's probably an extents problem. If you can't, it's a visibility problem.

 

I have occasionally had problems with refplanes not showing up no matter what I do. I usually just delete them and  make some new ones.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 7:56:32 PM | TKennedy

#6

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Quoting TKennedy from 2010-07-07 12:26:30

"

That's not quite true. Refplanes have 3D extents just like grids. If your refplanes don't go through the view range, they don't show up. Go to a section or elevation that cuts through the refplane, and you can adjust the extents. Make sure you drag the 3D extents, not the 2D.

 

Tom, maybe you're thinking of work planes?

"
 
I still stand by my assertion.  Maybe I didn't explain it enough, but while reference planes have a 3D extents, logically they really do go to infinity.  The green dashed line that represents a reference plane can have a 3D or 2D extents like a grid element, but that really only adjusts the display or physical manifistation of the reference plane in the view.  If you base a workplane on a named reference plane your workplane will not be restricted to the 3D extents of the reference plane.  If you attach the top of a wall for example that is longer than the 3d extents of a reference plane, Revit will attach the wall top extending the reference plane to infinity logically for the attachment.
 
Granted this is a fine fine distinction of reference planes by advanced users, but the newbies might benefit by knowing the distinction of logical vs. physical display of reference planes in a project. 

 



Attached Images

78981_wall_1.png78981_wall_2.png

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 7, 2010 at 8:11:31 PM | reference plane depth/height

#7

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Ok, I get what you were saying.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

reference plane as level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 20, 2006 at 6:06:07 PM

2

Importing Cad to a specific reference plane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 14, 2014 at 6:46:30 PM

7

Creating Family Template / Reference Planes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 17, 2011 at 7:05:20 PM

2

Can't control non-elevation height of light sconce (wall-based family)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 4, 2022 at 9:42:00 PM

1

Defining elevation views parallel to a reference plane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Mar 5, 2006 at 8:37:41 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1769791

Objects:

22437

Forum Posts:

151906

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4301

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights