RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

213 Users Online (103 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Not enough hard drive space

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 1, 2010 at 4:51:30 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#1

bimmonkey


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
9 Posts
No Rating


I can't save my revit 2011 file (128 mb) locally to my C drive. I get a message stating I don't have enough hard drive space on my C: drive. I have 182 Gb of free space on my C: drive. Whats the problem?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 9:44:12 AM | Not enough hard drive space

#2

xzavoral


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
56 Posts
No Rating


Check your path for the file. Maybe its not on C:  where you have space.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 12:44:56 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#3

bimmonkey


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
9 Posts
No Rating


Correction ... 2010 Revit ....

The file is 158 mb in size ...

The warning message, in fact, claims there is not enough space on drive C: (which has 150 gig vacant) ...


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 12:48:23 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#4

xzavoral


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
56 Posts
No Rating


Did you try to login as Admin account on your computer?

Try to save the file on other storage space if you have one (D: or Flash Memory etc.)


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 12:53:25 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#5

bimmonkey


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
9 Posts
No Rating


It also gives me the same message if I try to Reload Latest.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 2, 2010 at 2:17:25 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#6

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


A couple of things:

1. Revit doesn't give a hooyey about drive letters, it uses UINC pathing to know where things are to be saved and where the central file is.  

2.  Revit cannot over-write any Windows permission problems, so be sure that your Win login allows you read/write privledges at the location you are specifing.

3. Other than the above two, it comes down to understanding fully how the local/central process works and creating things properly.  


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 10:48:20 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#7

allisonkapler


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
38 Posts
No Rating


Did you ever find a solution to this problem? Ive been saving my files in the same location since I got this computer and this is the first time Ive had that error. Some people say to just restart revit but I tried that no avail, I'm only trying to render a draft version, I deleted temperarory files etc. It says the file needs 43.3GB to render a draft version can that be true? Ive got 57 GB free.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 11:45:49 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#8

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Does the message come from within Revit or windows?

something similar happened to me not long ago and said I didn't have enough memory in my harddisk and turned out it was a Malware attack.........

Took me a few hours to get the issue resolved.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 2:53:52 AM | Not enough hard drive space

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


When Revit gives the error complaining there isn't sufficient disk space to save etc, its more often than not a RAM issue than a HDD issue.  Saving uses additional RAM.  Ensure your virtual disk space is adequate if you don't have a large amount of RAM.

 

I haven't seen this issue since version 6 as since then we've been on 8GB or more of RAM.  Currently running 24GB in this machine... 


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 3:44:17 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#10

allisonkapler


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
38 Posts
No Rating


IVe been using this machine for alot more complicated files and renderings. Ive cleaned up the files, defragmented, restarted and reloaded revit. These are my machines specs...

 Intel (R) Core (TM) i5 CPU750@2.67 GHz 2.67 Ghz64 Bit Operating system8GB Ram

any suggestions?? I cant even render a draft at this point and the file Im working with is  only 13.4 MB


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 4:37:02 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#11

allisonkapler


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
38 Posts
No Rating


Rediculous solution but I realized my crop region was turned off, i turned it on and it was way bigger than the area i needed rendered even though it was empty once i tightened it up it allowed me to render again.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 12:09:16 PM | Not enough hard drive space

#12

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


When you need to render create a "Camera view" not a "3D view"

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Local Files and Reformatting my Hard Drive

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 7, 2012 at 1:24:39 PM

2

I have enough memory but Revit doesn't agree about that

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Sun, May 10, 2015 at 2:46:51 PM

1

RENDERING CRASH...NOT ENOUGH SPACE???...HELP PLEASE!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 26, 2009 at 12:08:39 PM

4

Error on rendering..Please help

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 8, 2009 at 8:43:31 PM

3

Increasing temp file with revittemp files using up c: drive space

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 10:13:42 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1758825

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1738

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights