RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

262 Users Online (115 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 6:39:09 PM | Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#1

thomk


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 22, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


I'm hoping those of you who have been working with Revit for a while could please give me some pointers on purchasing a new machine. Let's say I was looking to put together a production machine that 95% of its purpose is to run AutoCAD 2006 and Revit Building 8. Let's also say this machine has to last about 3-4 years. What parts of it should be maxxed-out to get the most speed out of Revit? Does a large amount of RAM (~4Gb) affect the speed more than a fast processor? Would a dual-core chip have any use? Aside from rendering, does a 256Mb video card make a large difference in how Revit runs? Without going crazy, what would you put into your machine for this use? Any insight would be much appreciated. Thank you! ThomK

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 9:27:03 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#2

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


This was discuss many time so you can find it here or augi forum

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 7:20:39 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#3

thomk


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 22, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


Xane, Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to find a relavent post since the latest one I came across was from 2004. If I'm just not searching for the right thing, please let me know! Thanks! t.k.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 4, 2005 at 10:31:52 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#4

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


Try this 'http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=1556' On www.augi.com (first register, it's free) find revit forums, you can find 'hardware' and everything you want. My opinion, buy best you can in each category, if buget allow. Revit don't use 'dual core' but Accurender does. Min 2 gb ram, graphics card is less important, that money put on processor and memory, only if you work with large models, best motherboard, hdd in raid, ... Good luck

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 5, 2005 at 1:20:21 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#5

thomk


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 22, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks! That helps a lot! t.k.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 5, 2005 at 4:11:23 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#6

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


And try configuration with more then one monitors, it is much easier to work in two monitors good luck

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 5, 2005 at 4:38:31 PM | RE:

#7

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting Xane - 2005-10-05 11:11:23

"And try configuration with more then one monitors, it is much easier to work in two monitors"




What kind of PC hardware requirements will enable revit in 2 or more monitors? of course, I know we need at least 2 monitors...& btw, please elaborate more on the system configuration if possible.

really can feel the possible performance improvement by working in 2 monitors as we draw in plan view and another pc shows us the 3D.

Thanks in advance,

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 5, 2005 at 5:30:09 PM | RE: Hypothetical Revit Dream Machine

#8

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


Nothing special, N6600 GT, I use Gainward and works fine, with two LCD 19". If you use better LCD you have 1600x1200 and that is much nicer, but more money. I think if you use two cards (SLI) you can use 4 monitors, I didn't try it's theory

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Render Dream Machine?

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Sep 10, 2008 at 12:17:49 AM

4

Revit 2010 on a x64 machine

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 28, 2009 at 6:33:43 PM

8

Automated Ticket MAchine

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:18:58 PM

1

video game machine

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, May 9, 2006 at 7:54:56 PM

1

What is the recommended machine for doing major renderings and walkthroughs?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 4, 2007 at 12:11:23 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1492729

Objects:

21159

Forum Posts:

151143

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6146

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights