RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> DWG and revit preformance

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 9:19:56 AM | DWG and revit preformance

#1

dexter303


active

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2005
22 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I Have a simple question.

What is the better way to use DWG files in revit.

A: One big DWG imported containing all layers and objects

B:The same file spilt up into multiple DWG and imported

/Best regards

Daniel Monsen


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 9:27:39 AM | DWG and revit preformance

#2

gebber


active
gebber Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
144 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


A big A-Cad file slows REVIT down it might be easyer to split em up and hide the parts you're not using at the time.

At least this is my experience


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 9:39:49 AM | DWG and revit preformance

#3

dexter303


active

Joined: Thu, May 19, 2005
22 Posts
No Rating


Thanks,

The information vill be visible at all times (site).

So i guess there is no differns right?

/DM


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 10:19:09 AM | DWG and revit preformance

#4

gebber


active
gebber Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
144 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


You can choose the options to link or insert the dwg.

You can also choose to have the dwg only show in the inserted view.

Then when you insert, you can select the dwg and choose hide in view when it slows you/Revit down.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 12:17:44 PM | DWG and revit preformance

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


My answer initially was don't use CAD files but in this case, you are talking about a site plan.  For the time being, site plans are better off in CAD but be careful with inserting CAD files because they will really cause you problems. 

 

To create a 3D site, you need to insert the CAD file but otherwise, all CAD files are better off linked rather than inserted.  If I still needed the site drawing after creating my 3D model, I would consider deleting the import and then linking it.  In this way, the DWG can be updated.

 

Finally, to improve performance, place your linked or inserted CAD files in a workset that can be un-loaded.  This is really important on very large projects.


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 15, 2017 at 7:24:05 AM | DWG and revit preformance

#6

k065167


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 4, 2008
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks guys, these insights are still valuable for me in managing DWGs in my project today!

 

Just to add to what WWHub said, 1 more reason to always link DWGs is because imported ones won't show in Manage Links! In a big model like mine with hundreds of views, it has become extremely tedious to purge any one imported DWG because I won't readily know which view or views it is in. Even if all copies of it have been found & removed, its symbol may still be there under VG > Imported Categories ...

 

So, be very disciplined about linking DWGs. I'm using DWG Explorer to clean models that didn't learn this lesson, but would rather prevent it from the source!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exporting views with DWG bocks to dwg.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 22, 2006 at 1:36:59 AM

0

Revit to DWG

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 5:56:25 PM

6

Solution 2D DWG to REVIT Pls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 18, 2006 at 11:04:13 AM

6

Revit to DWG in one single flie.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Sep 22, 2014 at 9:01:47 PM

5

revit dwg into autocad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 4:13:41 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1668419

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 8.1116

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights