RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

211 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Creating an Array along path

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 9, 2010 at 2:25:48 PM | Creating an Array along path

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

I'm trying to create a Brise Soleil canopy for my new building.

The canopy is made up from an element which sticks out of another arced element attached to the building.

I've created the element which sticks out (it is a simple extrusion), but I would like to have several of them along the arc.

It is possible to array an element along the arc, i.e. so that there will be an element placed every, say 200mm, along the arc.

In AutoCAD this would be the Divide or Measure command.

I woudl appricate some help!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 9, 2010 at 2:39:46 PM | Creating an Array along path

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Your arm element probably needs to be a family by itself which you could place then array it around the center of your arc.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 6:54:17 PM | Creating an Array along path

#3

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I'll try that.

 So is there any way of arraying along something - what could I do if I have a spline instead of an arc ?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 1:55:46 PM | Creating an Array along path

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


You could try using the railing tool and define objects to be arrayed as balusters.  Kind of a Revit hack since the objects become railings, but it does give a more dynamic way to create objects along a path.

-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jun 12, 2010 at 10:04:21 AM | Creating an Array along path

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


I agree with Tom... I like Phil Read ...

 



Edited on: Sat, Jun 12, 2010 at 5:14:41 AM

Attached Images

78093_array.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 10:30:06 AM | Creating an Array along path

#6

Jorgensen


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 1, 2009
13 Posts
No Rating


Hi

I need to copy some houses along a path and I tried the baluster method, and it's works.

But what if I would like the houses to have the same orientation? is that possible?

Right now they all align to the path.

Thanks

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 1:37:25 AM | Jorgensen

#7

dingohot


active
dingohot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 15, 2010
199 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Quoting Jorgensen from 2013-11-19 04:30:06

"

Hi

I need to copy some houses along a path and I tried the baluster method, and it's works.

But what if I would like the houses to have the same orientation? is that possible?

Right now they all align to the path.

Thanks

 

"

then, try with adaptive family with Orientation(Orthogonal on Placement) and divide path.

i'm attaching a family i just simply made.

hope it helps.

 



Attached Images

126250__1.png

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

want more?

You can get more tips at Enjoy Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 12:09:57 PM | Creating an Array along path

#8

Jorgensen


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 1, 2009
13 Posts
No Rating


Hi Dingohot

Can I load this family into a project and select the path? cause I need to generate the houses inside a masterplan, and could be frustrating to generate the models outside the masterplan.

It seems to be what I need - but I know nothing about adaptive families, but I find it very interesting.

Do you know a good way / place to start?

Thanks :-)



Edited on: Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 6:14:50 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 11:08:51 PM | Jorgensen

#9

dingohot


active
dingohot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 15, 2010
199 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Quoting Jorgensen from 2013-11-21 06:09:57

"

Hi Dingohot

Can I load this family into a project and select the path? cause I need to generate the houses inside a masterplan, and could be frustrating to generate the models outside the masterplan.

It seems to be what I need - but I know nothing about adaptive families, but I find it very interesting.

Do you know a good way / place to start?

Thanks :-)

Edited on: Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 6:14:50 AM"

You may know pattern based family. Pattern based family is one kind of adaptive. But it has to be placed at grid of mass face in common.

But Adaptive family can be placed anywhere in project. Number of adaptive points are the order of placing.

The family i attached above has three adaptive points. It means you can place it in your project with three clicks. 

You can find lot's of information about adaptive family on internet and autodesk wiki.

And there are some posts also in my blog.

Hope it helps.


-----------------------------------

want more?

You can get more tips at Enjoy Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 6, 2018 at 3:56:48 PM | Creating an Array along path

#10

Mickey75


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 15, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


(ABSOLUTE NONSENSE)

Don't see why this feature is not available as a basic tool, and with maximum editability. Editability being critical to it's parametric functions. 

Revit should consider 'reconceptualizing' the way their modeling tools are specific to function --  they just don't have to be that way. I noticed that users spend a reasonable amount of time tool hunting, and the findings are seldom intuitive and often result in loss of productivity.

In case anyone else is wondering, the best solution is as described by 'dingohot' below, and it's still not as easy as you'd expect.

Yikes! Adaptive Families is the only place where you can divide a path? It's just not something any user would have guessed on their own Smile

Thanks to those who take time to share, unlike that dude in my office; Autodesk owes you big time.

But here is a thought:

UI in Revit needs impovement/redesign Cryingagree?) 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Array along a curved path

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 11, 2014 at 3:11:45 PM

5

array on path

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 25, 2012 at 11:18:34 AM

5

Is Solution to Creating a Parametric Polar Array?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 23, 2013 at 1:40:06 AM

4

how can I array along spline? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 28, 2008 at 1:07:32 PM

19

3D path insteads of 2D path

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Mar 29, 2005 at 3:23:38 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1469387

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150619

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2794

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights