RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

165 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rafter cut different on each side of roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 28, 2010 at 5:46:14 PM | Rafter cut different on each side of roof

#1

aozarski


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 18, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


The rafter cut options ie. plumb, two-cut square, and two-cut plumb are adequate for what I want to do, but I need them to be different on either side of the roof.  I have come up with a few work arounds but they are kind of messy.  Does anyone have any sugguestions? Thanks in advance.

Edited on: Fri, May 28, 2010 at 12:56:13 PM

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 29, 2010 at 10:14:33 AM | Rafter cut different on each side of roof

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


If you create that in one piece you CAN'T, you can create that roof in several parts (roofs) and each part must have different name then you can change individually "The rafter cut options ie. plumb, two-cut square, and two-cut plumb" OR if youwant only one roof, just use the create in-place family to "CUT" with voids what you need....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 1, 2010 at 4:11:49 PM | Rafter cut different on each side of roof

#3

aozarski


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 18, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for responding.  When you say use the create in place family to "CUT" with voids what you need... do you mean create a mass for a roof and then "CUT" with voids or can you "CUT" with voids a roof created with the roof tool.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 1, 2010 at 5:29:00 PM | Rafter cut different on each side of roof

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


"can you "CUT" with voids a roof created with the roof tool." - YES, create IN-PLACE, choose "Roof" category then create voids like you want to cut the roof but don't forget to use the "Cut Geometry" tool...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't make a Two Cut - Square rafter cut on a roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 15, 2011 at 12:20:30 AM

4

Custom Rafter Cut

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 8:14:38 AM

1

Change in rafter thickness in roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 1:28:23 PM

5

Problem with rafter cut

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 4, 2010 at 8:44:18 AM

2

Get Roof Soffit To Have Same Rafter Cut As Roof?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 at 12:37:35 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1794958

Objects:

22512

Forum Posts:

151981

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7015

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights