RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

224 Users Online (98 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> 2010 & 2011

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 9:13:31 PM | 2010 & 2011 Crash after pressing slab

#1

Crackerjack


active
Crackerjack Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jan 14, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


Hey there, I've just had 2011 installed on my 64bit, Windows XP 64 professional work station. Anyways, as the title says, when I click the slab or floor button. It Revit just shuts right down, and gives me the autodesk error report box. I've been doing a little bit of searching in the forums for similar problems with not much success. The two main things to try for crashing in general is to check for video card driver updates (I haven't done that yet), or turning off the graphics accelerator. I tried shutting of the accelerator, and the problem is still there. It can't be a file related problem because I'm in a new project. Has anyone run into this problem? Thanks Trevor

Edited on: Wed, May 19, 2010 at 4:14:32 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 2, 2010 at 10:31:12 PM | 2010 & 2011

#2

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hello trevor

i just posted a similar thread, but not with specifics like yours.  your point about the graphics accellorator - i just remembered, on one of our computers a few weeks ago, we turned it off, and there have been no crashes on it!  we have just turned off the accellorator on the crashing computer, and will let you know how it goes.

peter


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 2, 2010 at 11:07:57 PM | 2010 & 2011

#3

Crackerjack


active
Crackerjack Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jan 14, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for replying Latemore.  It turns out that my problem with Revit crashing had to do with my windows registry.  The office I am working at had recently moved into a bigger one with more people.  During the migration process, there were some issues with my machine, (says my network administrator).  So I think that my problem is specific to me only.

 Thanks

Trev

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 7, 2010 at 12:10:36 AM | 2010 & 2011

#4

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hello trevor

that is excellent that you fixed the problem.  we are not super computer wizzkids here in my office, so can you please explain what you did with your "windows registry".  our computers are standalone machines, connected to a file server, so not a network as such.

thanks for your help.  peter


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 6:47:31 PM | 2010 & 2011

#5

Crackerjack


active
Crackerjack Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jan 14, 2009
11 Posts
No Rating


Esentially all we did to fix our problem was to make my work station to be an administrator status.  Which seemed to fix the problem completly.  Most poeple in my office do not have administrator set up on their machines, so they can't install programs.  My network administrator says that there is a way for Revit 2011 to run good with out adminstrator status, but this is a work around that they are doing for now.  So I don't really know the exact reason for the problem, I just know what they did to fix it.

 Trev


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 10:56:43 PM | 2010 & 2011

#6

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


thanks trevor

in my office all users are administrators of their own machine, so i guess that is another thing i can cross off.  revit crashed again twice yesterday on that one computer.  we are going to get our computer tech in to look at things!

regards peter


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 6:54:31 AM | 2010 & 2011

#7

AmandaBob


Joined: Wed, Apr 14, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


Is it over? My God, what a snorefest!

_______________________________________________

Uggs

Ugg boots


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:10:54 AM | 2010 & 2011

#8

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


not sure why it is so boring to you, but crashes are not fun.

in the interests of helping others who may be looking at this thread, go visit this one-

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=20673

to see some solutions, plus a link to very recent patches.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Libraries fro 2010 to 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 2, 2011 at 9:09:49 PM

5

How can I open a Revit 2011 file in Revit 2010?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Dec 6, 2010 at 2:44:31 PM

2

New features in Revit 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 29, 2010 at 9:56:03 AM

10

Revit 2011 Shared parameters Converter Extension

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, May 23, 2011 at 5:29:53 PM

5

Walls Wont Show Up In View After Upgrading From 2010 To 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 at 5:00:20 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1454982

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6655

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights