RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (112 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Generic model cut plane & plan regions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 1:32:34 AM | Generic model cut plane & plan regions

#1

LenP


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


I have a project where the floor plan is located over 2 levels of about 3000mm height difference. Due to the scale and nature of the job we want to show both levels on the one plan (they are connected by ramps). My problem arises in that i have a generic model family of conveyor belts that run through the floor plan from floor level into the ceiling above. When I add the family it shows the family cut at the correct height in relation to the overall plan (at the height of the views cut plane), however once i add a plan region with a higher cut plane to a region of the plan, the cut plane of the family changes to match this height. At no point does the plan region cross the family.

Any ideas to resolve this would be apreciated.

I amn using Revit 2011


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 12:47:02 PM | Generic model cut plane & plan regions

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


This may be your problem.  You say: "... At no point does the plan region cross the family."  Are you certain.  A family will show if any part of the family is cut and that includes invisibles lines in the family.   I would edit the family and make sure.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 11:27:28 PM | Generic model cut plane & plan regions

#3

LenP


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


I am certain there are not extrenuous lines floating about in the family. Aside from checking the family I also tried creating the plan region quite a distance away from any part of the model in plan view and I still get the same result.

The family is made up of a 3d autocad file inserted into the family file, this is the only thing I can think of that would make it different to any of the other generic familys in the project. This family works fine in all views except the plan once a plan region is added.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 20, 2010 at 11:44:22 AM | Generic model cut plane & plan regions

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


It is probably the 3D autoCAD file.  It would be beneficial to all if you determine what the problem is.  I wonder about orgin in the CAD or layers off in the CAD import.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Generic Model Tags?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 10, 2013 at 1:40:55 PM

1

Cut plane problems with Families - Revit 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 21, 2013 at 7:29:27 PM

2

Issue with annotation nested with generic model family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 25, 2016 at 2:46:10 PM

5

Plan Regions

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jun 17, 2016 at 5:50:11 PM

3

Generic Model not showing in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 16, 2013 at 1:50:49 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1422932

Objects:

20410

Forum Posts:

150475

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2750

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights