RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Openings in different phases

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, May 15, 2010 at 5:46:54 PM | Openings in different phases

#1

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Using RAC 2010

Currently doing a project with 3 phases on existing building.

Attempt to place openings in 2nd and 3rd phase on existing wall and roof (existing in 1st phase) which don't change apart from openings in 2nd/3rd phase.

Despite placing the openings in the 2nd and 3rd phase the 1st phase drawings show the opening.  The 'phasing' parameter is greyed out in instance properties of the opening, and is set at existing.

Any assistance on how openings should be placed in differing phases on an existing wall which does not otherwise change during phasing?

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 3:27:49 PM | Openings in different phases

#2

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Try using a wall based generic family for the opening.  You'll be able to choose the phase of the family after placing it in your project.

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 5:17:29 PM | Openings in different phases

#3

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I think I understand your solution, but it seams like avoiding the problem (if the 'new' opening is a window family I'd have to hide it in the new views - somewhat clumsy.  I'm replacing and enlarging existing window/door/roof openings with new clear openings.  

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 6:17:49 PM | Openings in different phases

#4

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


so here's what i'm getting:  you have existing window/door/roof openings and you want to add new clear openings.  Right?

 If so, here's what I'd do.  Make sure you have existing and new construction views.  Make sure your window/door/roof openings are set to existing.  For clear openings I like to use generic model families (or some other family category) because it is easier to choose which phase you want (by using the Modify Tab>Openings tool you are forced to have the phase of the host).  Then, add your new clear opening and make sure it's on the new construction phase.  Whether the new clear opening is a generic model family or window it doesn't matter as long as you don't mind an opening appearing in a window schedule. hth


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 18, 2010 at 8:02:49 AM | Openings in different phases

#5

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


You understood my problem exactly. 

Correct, I hit the dead end also with openings in phases - you can't alter the time they're created within.

Your solution works, but it took me a while to work it out, (creating a new family from the basic window model, ie do nothing but save the template? - Just realised, I assume that means you have to create a separate dummy 'phased opening' for rooflights and floors?)

 Seams as if Revit should modify the programme to allow 'opening' to be altered in phase.

 

 Thank alot for your help.

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 30, 2010 at 11:27:10 AM | Openings in different phases

#6

bdbhoy


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 9, 2007
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


The solution to crete 'mock' (Door/window/rooflight) that are phasable is limited to simple rectangles.

Does anyone have a solution to more complex shapes? 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 14, 2021 at 1:34:25 PM | Openings in different phases

#7

hanbyjm


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


Version 2021 and still the same situation! I have an existing wall we are putting openings in and the phase for the openings still shows as existing phase (grayed out).  I tried making an opening with a new window family and set it to new construction phase.  However it still shows in the wall when view setting is set to new construction show previous. How do I not show the opening in the existing only view?

Found a solution on another site, except I infilled the wall, not floor. Still not the best. Would be better if the phase of opening could be changed.

What I did is:-1 Model the perimeter of the opening in Existing.-2 Fill the opening with the same Floor Type as the existing.-3 Select the filled floor area and demolish it in the new construction phase.-4 Use Linework tool to change the edges to invisible in the existing view.



Edited on: Wed, Apr 14, 2021 at 10:14:24 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 21, 2021 at 12:23:42 AM | Openings in different phases

#8

QUINNJ


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 16, 2020
0 Posts
No Rating


Why would you do all that? Make a window family blank no frame etc forget openings.. Place it in wall and set the phase to phase2. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Copy Monitor Shaft Openings

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 22, 2010 at 1:16:14 AM

2

Capabilities to isolate phases

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 11:43:02 AM

2

Demo Plan with multi phases

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 28, 2015 at 12:34:43 PM

1

Curved wall openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 15, 2010 at 5:42:11 AM

1

Showing multiple phases in one viewport

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 1:02:56 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1605992

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5770

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights