RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

243 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Groups & Worksets

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 2:09:26 PM | Groups & Worksets

#1

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Firstly, I've searched the forum for this and drew a blank.  It might be there somewhere, but I couldn't find it.

Anyway, I'm working in a fairly large project; worksharing is enabled; we have multiple areas and multiple levels.  We've decided to create worksets based on the areas and levels, and then move objects to the appropriate worksets.  A significant portion of the building has been grouped and copied to 5 different locations.  So the group now spans all levels and all areas.  I want to move the elements in the groups to their appropriate worksets.  But, no matter how I approach it, the workset value is grayed out.

Am I simply out of luck?


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 4:55:10 PM | Groups & Worksets

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


You need to set the group / workset to editable.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 5:25:10 PM | Groups & Worksets

#3

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


The group is on Workset1 and that workset is editable (by me).  However, I can't select individual objects within a particular group and change the workset (element property is grayed out)

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 5:33:08 PM | Groups & Worksets

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


It appears that groups can be on worksets but the components in the group are all on that workset.  If you place components in seperate worksets then group them, they are moved to the current group workset.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 5:37:22 PM | Groups & Worksets

#5

BigD


active
BigD Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
100 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


well . . . that kinda sucks Smile

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 31, 2015 at 5:36:09 PM | Groups & Worksets

#6

pmartini2012


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm having a similar dilemma but the various families within the same group ARE on different worksets.  The instance of the group is under the Workset "Units" but I have a fridge and counter within that group that are under "Main Model." When I try to edit the group and move the fridge and counter ot the "Units" workset, the instance parameter for Workset is grayed out.  It seems the only way is to cut and paste the geometry in place to move it to the correct workset.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 16, 2018 at 3:00:15 AM | Groups & Worksets

#7

mountain1985


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 11, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


I've found a way around this. Its fiddly though.

go into the group. Select the workset you want the certain items to be in. now copy those items using the copy tool, and paste them somewhere else in the group. notice these newly pasted items in the group are now in the workset you selected. Its a fiddly process and I've noticed it doesn't always copy throught to every instance of the group.

Depending what your doing this can lead to more work, but its the only way I've found to have multiple worksets in one group.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Model Grouping and Worksets

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 6:26:18 PM

1

Grouping and Worksets

Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets

Thu, Feb 24, 2005 at 8:10:35 PM

0

Groups - Door & Schedules

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 27, 2007 at 4:08:30 PM

4

Displacement Sets & Groups

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 4, 2015 at 12:14:55 PM

3

Groups and Phases

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:45:27 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1605978

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1706

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights