RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

278 Users Online (133 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Just an Advice...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, May 11, 2010 at 12:47:30 AM | Just an Advice...

#1

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


Hey guys how r you Smile

I got little dillema and ihope some of your will be able to simplify it a little bit...

im starting new project today, and its 250 unit complex, with 25 townhouses...out of those 25 townhouses there are 7 different types of them...

 so question is...would it be more practical to create central file, as site plan, and link townhouses in it, so that way i have the freedom to change the levels of the townhouses, add step downs and so on...

 or other option...linking them...

 i know how to do both, but it seems that sometimes one option is more applicable than other...or easier...and i just thought, better ask, then start the whole thing on the wrong way...

 thanx heaps for ANY advice....Smile


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 11, 2010 at 12:51:43 PM | Just an Advice...

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


I would create a seperate site project and link the site into individual townhouse projects.  Depending on the number of townhouses, you may not want to link them all back into the site but instead use a simple Group to represent the units in the site.  No need for all the building data in the site.

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 11, 2010 at 11:28:38 PM | Just an Advice...

#3

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


thanx WWHub...

 

its preety much the opposite of wat i thought...just to put it in simpleton terms...

1 - create site with toposurface

2 - link it in each townhouse file - that will give me everything i need for working drawings...site plan and location plan...with FFL's proper sections and elevations...

 now if i want 3D of whole complex...i would have to link simple versions of model back into site...meaning create new file...which would be 3D Model only...

 cause if i want simple files...wouldnt i have to duplicate the townhouse files and gelete all unnecessary stuff in it...

 

im sorry, but now im preety much as confuzed as u can get...

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 12:31:38 PM | Just an Advice...

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


You wrote: ..."1 - create site with toposurface" - correct

                ..."2 - link it in each townhouse file - that will give me everything i need for working drawings...site plan and location plan...with FFL's proper sections and elevations..." - correct

..."now if i want 3D of whole complex...i would have to link simple versions of model back into site"  You can use the whole unit model - depends on their size.  But if you are going to render the site model with all the units, the contents of these units can create problems.

 

We like to place the exterior faces of our models (exterior walls, windows, doors, roof) into a "shell" workset so that they can be viewed (or copied) separately from everything else.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 11:55:38 PM | Just an Advice...

#5

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


even though i have started this tread a while back, i have created worksets for few designs we have...

now, issue i got is once u enable worksets, u create central file...yara yara yara...all good, but what  i DID OVERLOOK is that the designs we use we repeat, i work for project builders, and they have their 'standard designs' which get overly repeated...its colour schemes that are different...

because of that...once i load external shell into new project (site layout), i cant paint it, i would have to go back into central file, and modify the colour scheme, to load the same building in the site, but with diferent colour scheme...but then im modifing central file, in itself, and i dont think thats the idea of worksets...

in that case, im thinking...would u set the worksets in "standard designs" first...OR...you would copy the standard at the biggining of each project, and then create the colour scheme, enable worksets, and so on,  and THEN import the copied file into site plan, and model it...

 hopefully the above written does make sence...


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 2:07:20 AM | Just an Advice...

#6

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


i answered my own question...for anyone else out there...wat i workd out and it seems like it works for us is

1)     make central file - enable worksets on network drive

2)     copy central file to local machine - create local file

3)     open the file via 'R-Open-"select local file & select option DETACH FROM CENTRAL"-open'

4)     result is modifiable file which i can import into site plan, and disable and enable worksets

 if anyone knows a better way...let me know

 regards


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Advice from Professional Architects/Architectural Technicians

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 9:47:25 PM

3

Advice on creating a site plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 12, 2010 at 10:04:03 PM

8

Advice - Wall Cornice

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Feb 3, 2012 at 6:05:51 PM

5

Multiple Building Project. Need advice.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 13, 2009 at 3:28:32 PM

4

counter top with custom profile edge --advice needed

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Dec 10, 2004 at 3:21:26 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1595256

Objects:

21921

Forum Posts:

151539

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1494

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights