RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

228 Users Online (115 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 1:18:27 PM | I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ?

#16

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


This has been debated before.  The advantages of not being backwards compatable far outway the reasons to do so so most of us are very happy with this.

 

You say you have been using Revit for 2 years and find it difficult to use for construction drawings and 2D work.  May I suggest that you seek out some additional training?  Something is wrong with what you have learned or how you are using Revit.  Everyone that I know that have switched to Revit know that it is far easier to do construction drawings and any 2D work than it ever was in AutoCAD.  We recognized that value in less than 6 months of use. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 8:32:10 PM | I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ?

#17

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


I think I would want to use Revit to the most updated version whenever possible since the latest version will always have improvement over the older version (this is true most of the time); so, not having the capaiblity to save back is NOT going to be a deal-breaker...

Think about it, would you want to work on a new project using version 8.0 or 9.0? (without mental ray, conceptual mass....)

The answer is NO. Technology is changing everyday one should take advantage and embrace it.

Just my 2 cents

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 8:42:27 PM | I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ?

#18

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


I find the lack of backward compatibility somewhat suspicious.  It should be very simple to do -- between 2010 and 2011, there haven't been any changes to the basic functionality of walls, for example. 

 

There might be some incompatibilities.  maybe 10% of a model is not compatible with the previous release, but getting 90% of a model to work with, the basics, would make some people very very happy.  

 

Autodesk is choosing not to do this because they lose money when people skip releases and opt out of subscriptions.  It's very simple.  The same process that "upgrades" a file to a new release could basically work backward.  include an error log.  exclude erroneous components.  Doesn't matter to us though.. we're subscribed, and I love each new release.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 9:25:02 PM | I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ?

#19

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


I have no doubt that there's a money issue on Autodesk's side (although I'm still fairly certain that there was a real technical issue about the way new versions are made that made backwards compatability an issue), but on the users side I'm kinda liking that you need to keep upgrading. I do not miss all the issues I used to have when I'd use the shiny new features in ACAD to increase productivity, only to find that I had to either stop using them or deal with the issues they caused by downgrading to R14 (that's not a joke, I actually had to go from 2009 to R14 a couple times) because some architect saw no need to upgrade anything. Yes, having to upgrade yearly is a cost nobody likes, but it seems that too many people completely overlook the costs of using outdated programs.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Architecture 2009 - cannot open file using "file: open"..any help?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 28, 2010 at 7:34:26 PM

6

How can I open a Revit 2011 file in Revit 2010?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Dec 6, 2010 at 2:44:31 PM

2

Revit MEP 2011 API - Open file and transfer project standards

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 at 4:17:37 PM

6

Revit files won't open in 2011 on 64-bit operating system

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 2:22:39 PM

5

Can't open a Revit file. Never saw this error message before!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 9:57:55 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1415985

Objects:

20397

Forum Posts:

150457

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1774

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights