RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

185 Users Online (46 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wrong Reference plane flexing

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 7:14:00 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#1

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


this is a problem i've been having for a few years now. when i start to build a family i try to follow the best practices by creating the reference planes first and then adding the dimensions and parameters. sometimes while i am adding the parameters the wrong reference plane will stay where it is. i thought the hierarchy of reference planes had to do with both their order of creation and whether they are strong v. weak, however this doesn't seem to matter in some cases. am I missing somthing? this has happened since release 9, i'm currently using 2009.

 i would attach an example but the only one right now is an in-place family in a very large file and i'm hesitant to make this a specific issue as this happens across projects and family types.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 7:22:24 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


You need to learn some fundamentals in building families.  THere is a pull-down at your HELP ? that will give you a pointer to the families guide.  Download that and it will help you.  The only reference planes that will flex are those that you have added label dimensions to.  Be careful when you dimension anything where other objects may be in the same place.  Use your tab key to make sure what you are dimensioning to.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 7:55:00 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#3

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


i'll take a look at the tutorials and see if there is anything i've forgotten.

 maybe my initial question wasn't clear or well written enough. so i'm attaching a pdf to try to better illustrate what is happening.

i know that only reference planes that i have added label dimensions to will flex that is not the issue. the issue i am having is the hiearchy of which they are moving. essentially one reference plane has been locked to a wall. another one should be a distance away from it (offset) and then a third should be a distance away from the second one (frame thickness). the hierarchy should be that the first one stays put, then the second moves according to its parameter while the third one stays with it according to its parameter. but the exact opposite is happening what is more confusing is that on the right hand side the reference planes work fine in a mirrored situation and now after a few minutes of tinkering if i add the parameters in plan it works fine but not if i had them in elevation as they were added on the right side. hopefully this illustrates this specific instance better.

 

 



Attached Images

74829_Revit_problem.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 7:55:46 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#4

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


this image is better.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 8:18:27 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


ARe you really doing this family in-place the model?  Why?  do it as a loaded family.
 
Order of creating reference planes has nothing to do with how or when they move.
 
Just do a wall hosted family like the test that is attached.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 8:26:02 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#6

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


i appreciate the responses and this is why i didn't want to get into a specific instance as i've had the same problem in loaded families.

do you really think the issue is that its an in-place family or do you just disagree with my methodology? i honestly don't believe it has to do with it being an in-place family. why would it work correctly after i've added the parameters in a plan view rather than an elevation view


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 8:32:18 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


ANSWER - You dimensioned to the wrong thing.  Plan - elevation - doesn't matter where you label the ref plane location - but it does matter what you dimension to.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 8:42:59 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#8

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


i can assure you that i tabbed through to make sure that i selected the proper reference planes. again this doesn't really explain why this would happen in both in-place families and in loaded families. thanks for trying to help. i'm sure it will big a big aha! moment once i figure it out.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 1:58:05 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


The answer is still the same: ..."The only reference planes that will flex are those that you have added label dimensions to.  Be careful when you dimension anything where other objects may be in the same place.  Use your tab key to make sure what you are dimensioning to."

 

I also recommend that you add always name your reference planes.  Otherwise, if you have two in the same place, you won't know it.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:03:24 PM | Milesalis

#10

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting Milesalis from 2010-05-19 09:00:37

"I see that this is a somewhat recent thread.  I've been having the same issue's.  Have you figured out how to make the correct reference plane move?"

i think it's still done as WWHUB said

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:18:10 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#11

blue8haze


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 21, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


i haven't found out why its happening. i know wwhub thinks i'm dimensioning to the wrong reference plane but i can assure you i'm not but believing that would make the problem more difficult to acknowledge and the answer less easy to come up with. obviously this issue is not easily describable via forums. the problem is not that a reference isn't flexing but that the wrong reference is staying put while another flexes when it should be the opposite. 

however i have taken wwhub's advice and made this a loaded family which has helped tremendously in reducing this issue but nevertheless the issue still crops up on occasion even if i'm dimensioning to a newly created/named reference plane.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:25:14 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#12

Milesalis


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 25, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I see that this is a somewhat recent thread.  I've been having the same issue's.  Have you figured out how to make the correct reference plane move?

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:35:44 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#13

Milesalis


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 25, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I've attached a pdf to better explain the problem I'm having.  There are no objects is place yet...just reference planes.  Also, There are no reference planes on top of each other.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:41:19 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Which plane is your origin?  Which planes are pinned?

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 19, 2010 at 2:55:12 PM | Wrong Reference plane flexing

#15

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Milesalis.... How are you doing all those multiple posts?  I have deleted several already. 

Are you hitting a refresh or using you back button to a previos post and then sending again?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sexy Families

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, May 20, 2011 at 4:38:22 PM

1

extrusion not flexing as i would expect

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 2, 2012 at 6:50:18 AM

4

Defining elevation views parallel to a reference plane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Mar 5, 2006 at 8:37:41 PM

1

How to Lock a Radius Revolve to Reference Plans in Plan and Elevation?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 17, 2011 at 6:52:29 PM

0

Tag dimensions to reference plane in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 7:41:42 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1706605

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4606

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights