RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

200 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Window showing on level below and inserted level

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 6:57:35 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#1

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I was able to procure a set of Lowen windows for Revit but there is something strange happening that I can't figure out.  The windows show up in the level below as well as the level they are inserted into.  I've searched for an invisible line but can't find one.  If you open the attached window family you'll see there is something odd with the location of the window in the wall but I'm not sure how to resolve this.

 If someone doesn't mind opening this and taking a look I'd greatly appreciate it!

 

Thanks... 



This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 7:02:36 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


I think i don't understand well what you mean... Did you "Play" with the "Sill Height"?

Move the Ref. plane to the "Floor Line" then i think your problem is solved...

 

 



Edited on: Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 2:11:18 PM

Attached Images

74771_Ref1.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 7:12:23 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#3

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I'll give you an example. I inserted a 66" tall window with the sill height at 14" and the head height at 80", and the window shows perfectly on the 2nd floor (where I inserted it). Then I go to the first floor plan and it's just floating in the middle of a room (the room directly below the wall it was inserted into above).

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 7:18:36 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Seems to work fine here.  You must have done something else.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 7:24:54 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#5

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I'll give you an example. I inserted a 66" tall window with the sill height at 14" and the head height at 80", and the window shows perfectly on the 2nd floor (where I inserted it). Then I go to the first floor plan and it's just floating in the middle of a room (the room directly below the wall it was inserted into above).

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 7:38:11 PM | Window showing on level below and inserted level

#6

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Ok, thanks for your help... it looks like the parameter "Sill Height" that was in the family was conflicting with something.  I deleted it from the family and everything works like a charm.  I had previously set the instance sill height which placed the window in the correct location, but the type parameter "Sill Height" was different, and it didn't effect the location of the window, just where the window would be visible.  I'm still not sure I quit understand it but it's working great now... I guess that could be a nice way of making transoms show up in a normal view plane without having to do a plan region, I just had never seen it done like that.

 

Thanks for taking a look at the family... 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

everything inserting on the wrong level?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 4:09:27 PM

3

How to change Window Reference level in Window Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 at 2:49:17 PM

0

Level 1 room boundries showing up in foundation level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 15, 2008 at 3:31:36 PM

0

Ceiling Level Keeps Showing up

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 29, 2004 at 3:33:13 PM

4

Hiding Level Bubbles to internal elevations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 10, 2013 at 10:10:45 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1755786

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7816

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights