RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

198 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> "Default" Shared Parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 5:53:52 PM | "Default" Shared Parameters

#1

ldonkle


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
28 Posts
No Rating


We have a window family with several parameters (brick sill visiblity, shutter visibility, etc).  In order to see these parameters in a schedule, we just made these "shared" parameters.

 

But now, whenever we load this window into a project, the shutter visibility is checked "on" by default.  Can we make this shared paramter "off" by default?  Would this be controlled within the family or within the project?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 6:11:30 PM | "Default" Shared Parameters

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Is this shared parameter just in the project and not built into the familes?  If built into the families, you have to set it there.

 

Rememeber, in a project, you can uncheck show all instances and get all of these items on one line in a schedule and uncheck this field there.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 7:25:21 PM | "Default" Shared Parameters

#3

ldonkle


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
28 Posts
No Rating


Still having a problem w/ this -

To answer your question, both the project and the window refer to the same shared parameters .txt file.

 

Your solution of setting the default paramaters in the family did work - on families being loaded into the project for the very first time.

 

Unfortunately, the very first time this family was loaded, it had a few random parameters checked.  These "default" paramets aren't going away when the family is deleted and loaded again.  However, if I RENAME the family, then load it into the same project, it works perfectly.

 

Apparently the project remembers what shared parameters were set for a family of a specific name?



Attached Images

76010_untitled.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 7:34:25 PM | "Default" Shared Parameters

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


That is correct.  Once loaded under a new name (or the old one given a new name), you can swap the items to the new family.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 27, 2010 at 7:55:57 PM | "Default" Shared Parameters

#5

ldonkle


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 16, 2009
28 Posts
No Rating


Aha, tricky.  That works - thanks!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Automatic shared parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 9, 2011 at 2:23:17 PM

2

finding default shared paramaters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 1, 2009 at 11:21:18 AM

0

Version 2009 - Shared Parameters and Key Schedules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 7:49:25 PM

7

Editing the "Group Under" list for parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 12, 2006 at 8:45:54 PM

0

Titleblock Parameters [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 9:57:53 PM

17

Site Stats

Members:

1779216

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0325

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights