RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

247 Users Online (120 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Locking Existing Conditions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 20, 2005 at 11:52:20 PM | Locking Existing Conditions

#1

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Hi everybody, Is there a way to tell revit to lock walls, doors, windows and any other components that are labled as existing?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 2:20:32 AM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


You could just define a view that only shows the existing construction, select it all and pin it into place (push the pin icon on the menu bar) Or you could workset the project, place all the existing into one workset then simply choose to make this workset uneditable. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:05:17 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#3

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Hi Tom, Thanks for the reply. I've tried both of your suggestions and neither seemed to work with my problem. I've taken a couple screen shots that I'll try to describe. In the first shot called RevitCity-Before-092105 I'm showing the walls in their existing condition. I've selected everything and pinned them. In the second shot called RevitCity-After-092105 I've added the new wall. Hopefully you can see what my problem is. Before Pic: *Second to follow.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:05:46 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#4

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Here's the second pic.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:09:20 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#5

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Jpeg format:

Attached Images

RevitCity-Before-092105.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:10:07 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#6

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


2nd:

Attached Images

RevitCity-After-092105.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:43:33 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#7

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Looks to me like what you are showing are wall join issues. Lots of things that can be done. Try changing the wall join setting for each join using the wall join tool. Sometimes I split apart the walls, drag them away from each other, then align and lock them to the reference planes. Some joins may never get cleaned up 100% and then I will resort to using filled regions to graphically clean them up. HTH Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 6:49:56 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#8

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


Thanks Tom, no way to just lock existing conditions so they never change then eh?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:47:16 PM | RE: Locking Existing Conditions

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


If you don't need to demolish or change the existing conditions any way then perhaps linking the existing into a new file maybe the best bet...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall infill - Existing and New

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 7, 2011 at 4:29:27 PM

3

Existing Wall Rendered

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:23:30 PM

2

draw lines in existing conditions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 3, 2008 at 4:37:26 PM

3

new wall finish over existing wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 7, 2009 at 3:46:37 PM

2

Existing Stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 10, 2009 at 6:36:53 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1442872

Objects:

20773

Forum Posts:

150864

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1751

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights