RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

186 Users Online (86 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Importing IFC from Archicad

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 at 7:00:14 PM | Importing IFC from Archicad

#1

gmosebach


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to use an IFC file (into 2010) from an architect using Archicad.  I can import the file but nothing in it is at all smart/usable. This might be more of an Archicad question but does anyone know how to get things to import to their proper families.  the way I understand it a wall in archicad should export as 'IfcWall' so when brought into revit it at least knows its a wall, how modifyable it is remains to be seen.  Right now each wall is coming thru as one object, if there are doors or windows in it they all get merged together into one uneditable object.

Let me back up and explain how this started. the problem is Revit isn't bringing in the wall openings correctly (see attached file).  You can see the outlines of all the openings and in addition to merging them with the wall it is also filling them as if they were solid.  That creates a problem when trying to get door openings to show up on foundation plans, etc.  It is perceived as solid wall and gets hatched as if it were CMU as well.  We've been trying to change the opening settings to correct but I'm now thinking it is a problem with the walls importing wrong.  When i open an IFC model I exported, I select a wall and its properties show its family name and wall parameters correctly.  When i open the IFC model from Archicad and select a wall its properties show the Family and type as blank.  That is leading me to believe that Revit isn't seeing it as a wall and if its not seeing it as a wall it has nothing to host the door and window openings so they just get filled the same as the surrounding wall.  I'm hoping/thinking that if I can get Revit to actually recognize imported walls as walls the other problems will correct themselves.

I'm not real familiar with IFC but maybe this means something to someone,  under the properties of an imported wall there is an IFC Parameters (parameter) that is showing greyed out but populated with 'IfcGuid' and a seemingly random number/letter combination under the value which I'm assuming has something to do with its ID in archicad.  I think i need for that to be reading IfcWall in lieu of IfcGUID

Sorry for the novel, just trying to give as much info as I can

Thanks in advance for any help or insight anyone can provide



This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 9:38:05 PM | Importing IFC from Archicad

#2

gmosebach


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


UPDATE:

we've been making some progress and it appears that it all needs addressed in the archicad export settings.  The architect has been trying different combinations and we seem to be headed in the right direction


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 at 8:57:10 AM | Importing IFC from Archicad

#3

3DLake


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 25, 2005
16 Posts
No Rating


Hello gmosebach:

 

Would you be willing to please share some of the "magic settings" that you have been using in Archicad to get a good exported IFC file that Revit is willing to read?

-Thanks


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 at 1:49:19 PM | Importing IFC from Archicad

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i think in the end, or least at the moment, you will find that IFC is a pipe dream. Good Luck Though!

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

IFC IMPORTING

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Feb 23, 2012 at 11:16:29 PM

0

importing from archicad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 28, 2008 at 4:55:38 AM

1

exporting and importing ifc

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:06:12 PM

1

Importing IFC into Revit 2020. Windows/Doors not showing in plan/elevations/sect

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 5, 2020 at 12:15:58 AM

0

Problems after importing IFc file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 5, 2010 at 11:53:19 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1758846

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0986

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights