RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

234 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Shared Project Base Point

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 15, 2010 at 9:41:35 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#1

Timalez


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 29, 2009
24 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone have any good reference material on this.  I have been able to modify and set my project base point for my central file but I am in the dark on how to share (publish?) this coordinate with consultants, etc.  I was operating under the assumtion that once I established my project base point within my project, I could export or publish to share with my consultants.  Thanks in advance.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 1:13:56 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Wow, I'm sorry but I just don't understand why people don't use their HELP.  Search "publish"

 

REVIT's Help is very good if you learn to use it.

 

To publish coordinates:

  1. Click Manage tabProject Location panelCoordinates drop-downPublish Coordinates.
  2. Place the cursor on a linked model instance and click.
  3. Select a named location from the linked model, and click OK.

    See Defining Named Locations.

The linked model file now has the same shared coordinates as the host model file.

 

Note that you will now have to give that file back to your consultants!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 1:50:27 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#3

Timalez


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 29, 2009
24 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for the response but not excited about the slant.  I did, and often use the "search/Help" prior to my posts. 

Anyway, I walked through the steps you posted so I was aware that I could share the Project Base Point with a linked file, it just seems a bit "carriage before the horse".  At any rate thank you for the response.  I also did review the article in AUGI/AEC EDGE per another thread...  Very helpful.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 2:03:19 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Don't know what you mean carriage before the horse. ...

 

By rights, someone should initially establish where the project is and then distribute that.  But obvoiusly, that doesn't always happen, especially with site models or CAD links so this process corrects that.

 

Note that you can acquire coordinates from a site DWG - also from the HELP:

When a Revit Architecture project acquires coordinates from a linked DWG file, the World Coordinate System (WCS) of the selected linked DWG file becomes the shared coordinate system of the host Revit Architecture project, based on the location of the linked DWG instance. The Y axis of the DWG becomes True North, and the origin of the DWG becomes the origin of the shared coordinate system of the Revit Architecture project.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 2:21:26 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#5

Timalez


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 29, 2009
24 Posts
No Rating


I am slowly wrapping my head around this process.  Thanks for your posts.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 2:31:23 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


This is hard for everyone to understand so you are not alone.

 

Sorry to bust your chops on the HELP issue but you didn't say where you had looked first and most users fail to use their HELP... and it is so useful!   Glad you looked at the EDGE article.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 16, 2010 at 2:45:58 PM | Shared Project Base Point

#7

Timalez


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 29, 2009
24 Posts
No Rating


no worries...  I love this site and would be pulling my hair out w/o it.  Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

possible to delete project base point?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 8:58:58 PM

5

Project Base Point

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 2, 2009 at 11:24:59 AM

3

Level that reads both Project Base Point and Project Survey Point

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 9, 2015 at 2:39:37 PM

2

copy with base point in revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 11, 2012 at 12:03:41 PM

1

Visible project base point

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 7, 2013 at 9:32:58 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1534318

Objects:

21326

Forum Posts:

151334

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5101

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights