RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

210 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 23, 2010 at 8:44:05 PM | Made a new family but cant rotate it properly

#1

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Made a new family that needs to be able to rotate Horiz and Vert.  When I insert it, I can rotate it in the plan view, but when viewed from an elevation view, I cannot rotate it.

This is for MEP2010, and I used generic model as my family template.

I thought it was something to do with dimensioning from level 1, so I made a new ref plane, and dim from that, and it didn't work.

I then made a new family again using generic model, just made a simple rectangle, no parameters or dimensions, loaded it into the project, and it still wont rotate in elevation view.

Is there a switch or some other template I need to use?

Very frusterating.

File Attached . .



Edited on: Tue, Feb 23, 2010 at 2:54:46 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 24, 2010 at 7:35:44 PM | Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


I don't work with MEP but see if this help you...

 



Attached Images

73099_work.png73099_rotate1.png73099_rotate2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 26, 2010 at 7:17:05 PM | Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

#3

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Well, What I found out is that a general template is somehow locked to the level.  I would have thought that it would  be unbounded, as it is a general template.

I had to use a mechanical equipment template, and it allowed me to do what i wanted.

A third party tech support company spent two hours on it as they didn't know why it wouldnt work either.

It would be nice to have a description as to when certain templates should be used, and when they shouldn't.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 4:26:52 PM | Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

#4

Gottfried


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 30, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


I tried this:

see attached file( I used jing to record that)

 

keypoints. the family has to be created on a rotatable host inside the family.

once you create that family it can be rotated in a project with the normal rotate command, but the angel relative to the horizontal plane can be controlled over a parameter, which is controlling the host plane inside that family.

 

did that help a little?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 5:22:29 PM | Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

#5

Gottfried


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 30, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


<a href="http://www.screencast.com/t/leG4FrUHux">parametric_family_with_rotated_host_plane</a>

 

 

thats the link to my previous comment

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 5:32:45 PM | Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

#6

Gottfried


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 30, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


the upper link doesn't work ...sorry!

 

this one should be fine:

http://www.screencast.com/t/leG4FrUHux

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't Rotate Revit Family Created

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 3, 2012 at 8:21:24 PM

8

How to rotate a familly and have its texture rotate with it ?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 19, 2012 at 6:00:19 PM

5

Rotate of family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 24, 2010 at 7:32:32 AM

6

rotate PROJECT north (not true north)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 10, 2009 at 2:11:40 PM

5

Parametric sliding window family not showing properly in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 7, 2011 at 3:04:59 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1668401

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9462

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights